May Book Roundup.

I don’t know how it got to be June so fast, and yet here we are! In May I finally got into the “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series, and boy, am I glad I waited for the first three to be out before I did!!! All up I read 5 books.

~*~

Read:

Hunted – Meagan Spooner. Easy. ★★★★★

This book is the precise retelling of “Beauty and the Beast” that I have been waiting for my entire life. The female protagonist is realistic. She’s struggled through life, which made her physically and psychologically strong, so that the things she accomplishes in the story actually feel, again, realistic. She’s smart, and even sometimes sassy. She never puts down other women, or more traditionally feminine pursuits.

I loved the mythology and the magic of the world. It was fresh, but also like it could be something you might read in an ancient fairytale collection. I also really liked how the Beast was written, and his diary pages were a nice addition.

“Females are often the best hunters. They must provide for the young and survive when the males are too busy posturing to do so.”

.

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas. Easy. ★★★★☆.5

This is the first book in the series. I purposely left it to read for when the rest of the trilogy came out (there are more books to come in the series, but about other characters). And boy, am I glad I did! Despite all the mega hype around this book, I found that I really enjoyed it! I wasn’t really feeling the whole “Beauty and the Beast” retelling it sort of claims to be, but the story does just fine without the comparison.

I loved all the characters, and they were written SO well! Aside from maybe Tamlin, who was a bit ‘meh’, but I’ve seen things about him online (not actual spoilers though) so I watched him a bit more warily than I might have if I’d read it when it first came out.

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

.

A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas. Easy. ★★★★★

Holy moly! The second book just built on the first; onwards and upwards! What an amazing book! No spoilers but: The Court of Dreams *heart eyes for days*; Rhysand <3; Feyre’s character development!!

I just… I loved all the things. Things I wasn’t expecting. Everything was just so well written.

“When you spend so long trapped in the darkness, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.”

.

A Court of Wings and Ruin – Sarah J. Maas. Easy. ★★★★★

Oh. My. Fucking. God!! How on Earth did people wait a year for this?! Seriously!!

This was so fast-paced, action-filled, romantic, scary, thrilling, and funny. God, so funny! Getting to see all the High Lords was amazing: their differences, their powers, their histories. Ugh. So good! The battles. The characters in the battles. Feyre! That badass High Lady, and her powers. Wings!! I want wings!

“Remember that you are a wolf. And you cannot be caged.”

.

The Girl With Ghost Eyes – M. H. Boroson. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

This was May’s BOTM for our book club, “The Book Corner“. It had sooo much potential; good ideas which were poorly executed. The characters were flat and kinda boring. The writing was inconsistent, and even sloppy at times.

“Nothing is ever as simple as it seems.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

I’ve decided to take both books that have been on my Currently Reading since January, off my Currently Reading list. I will start them over soon!

~*~

What is your favourite book of 2017 so far?

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

