April Book Roundup.

I watched six seasons of Bones in three weeks. Some how I also managed to read six books! Yay!

~*~

Read:

First & Then – Emma Mills. Easy. ★★★★☆

For some reason I’ve been wanting to reread this for ages! I finally got around to that, and was glad I did. This is a really quick, fun read. It’s just plain enjoyable. It has humour, heart, and a fair amount of realism. I even picked up a few new things this time around. And it’s still one of the prettiest books in existence!

“When you love something, you can’t be happy all the time, can you? Like, that’s why you love it.”

.

The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet – Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley. Easy. ★★★☆☆.5

This is a follow-up/companion novel for the YouTube series, “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries“, (based on Jane Austen’s ‘Pride and Prejudice‘) and follows the youngest Bennet sister, Lydia. Lydia has been made into an interesting modern character. To begin with her narrative voice was a bit jarring, but I got used to it. And to be honest, she was like that in the show too, so it’s consistent.

The book deals with certain events that occur in the show, and I think they are handled quite well. The writing is good, and the characters still feel approachable and relatable. But as a standalone I don’t think it really holds up.

“I drew myself up straight, and pretended I knew what I was talking about. Oh, all right. I pretended I was Lizzie.”

.

Geekerella – Ashley Poston. Easy. ★★★★☆

A geeky modern retelling of ‘Cinderella’, which was a lovely surprise, and completely right for me. I had no idea what to expect, but this book was written very well, and it was heartfelt, and just plain genuine. I loved all of the characters; Sage in particular. They felt quite real, even those in Hollywood. I really hope some of my favourite actors are as real as Darien. And I loved all the current Pop Culture references. They never really felt forced to me.

“No. Stop it. You are trusting. You love your fans. You’re cool and funny and chill. You are Jennifer Lawrence.”

.

The Spook’s Apprentice – Joseph Delaney. Easy. ★★★☆☆.5

This is the first book in Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” series, and I listened to the audio book, largely because it was only 5 hours long. It was very easy to listen to, and was a nice taste of the series. It was a surprisingly well-written children’s fantasy story, with some rather dark and spooky moments. I think I would have liked it more if I’d first read it when I was younger. I’m not sure if I’ll continue the series, but you never know.

“Sometimes, when something bad leaves the world, something good enters in its place.”

.

The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame. Easy. ★★☆☆☆.5

This children’s classic was our BOTM for “The Book Corner“. I didn’t really get sucked into it, and that disappointed me. It was very much a number of little adventures had by anthropomorphic animals strung together. There wasn’t much of a plot. However, I loved the writing. It was beautiful. And I can appreciate what it has done for literature.

“Spring was moving in the air above and in the earth below and around him, penetrating even his dark and lowly little house with its spirits of divine discontent and longing.”

.

Ice Station – Matthew Reilly. Easy. ★★★★★

The first “Shane Schofield” novel, and the novel that gave me a healthy fear of killer whales. I reread this as an audio book, just because. It was just as good the second time around! So thrilling and fast-paced. And Fox! My God. I love Fox. And Scarecrow. Scarecrow and Fox.

“If you do not lay down your defences before our arrival, we will be forced to make an offensive entry. Such an entry, ladies and gentlemen, will be painful.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Nevernight – Jay Kristoff.

Don’t look at me.

Zeroes – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti.

 

Ditto.

~*~

How is your reading going so far this year?

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

