March Book Roundup.

Let’s just get straight to it.

~*~

Read:

Dead Until Dark – Charlaine Harris. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

The only reason I read the first “Sookie Stackhouse” book was because it was the book one of my friends bought me for my 21st birthday. It was fucking ridiculous. Just saying. The writing was horrible; I could easily do better. There was so much about Sookie doing daily things, and getting dressed. It was so annoying. She was pretty annoying overall.

The murder mystery was the only redeeming feature of the entire story. That’s why it got two stars.

“You won’t find a vampire in a Ford Fiesta.”

.

Take the Key and Lock Her Up – Ally Carter. Easy. ★★★★★

On the other hand, this book was awesome! The third and final “Embassy Row” novel ties up the story and all the mysteries in such a great, fast paced, action filled way. It was unpredictable, and thrilling, and the gang is all back together. And man, I love Alexei! He’s a great character; well, really, they all are!

“Regimes rise. Dictators fall. Wars rage the world over and still we stand.”

.

A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro. Easy. ★★★★★

This modern re-imagining of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s “Sherlock Holmes” stories, is the first in a new series, and was our March BOTM for “The Book Corner“. I absolutely loved it! It had a realistic setting and the characters were all wonderfully adapted to the modern age. The murder mystery was done so well; it did justice to Doyle’s work, and made the story very enjoyable. All the throwbacks were much appreciated!

“I felt like I was being pulled through a dark, dank wardrobe into some boozy Narnia.”

.

Intercepting Daisy – Julie Brannagh. Easy.  ★★★☆☆

This one is the sixth novel in the “Love and Football” ebook series. It was probably my least favourite in the series so far. I mean, it was fun and an easy read. But it’s characters weren’t as good as they have been. And the story-line was a bit on the unrealistic side.

“What couldn’t she have chosen something safer and less ridiculous, like writing erotica about some woman who had a fling with a dinosaur?”

.

Anne of Avonlea – L. M. Montgomery. Easy. ★★★★☆

The follow-up to “Anne of Green Gables“, sees Anne-with-an-E teaching for the first time, and feeling new things for Gilbert. Oh, God. So cute! I loved seeing Anne interact with her students, and her friends now that they’re a little older. It wasn’t quite as good as the first, but it was sweet!

“We all make mistakes, dear, so just put it behind you. We should regret our mistakes and learn from them, but never carry them forward into the future with us.”

.

Anne of the Island – L. M. Montgomery. Easy. ★★★★☆

The third “Anne of Green Gables” story is now my favourite! And, IT FINALLY HAPPENED!!! THE CUTENESS!! I loved all the character development, and being at Redmond. And GILBERT! ❤

“I don’t want sunbursts or marble halls, I just want you.”

.

Flipped – Wendelin Van Draanen. Easy. ★★★★☆

I loved the movie adaptation the moment I started watching it (a few years ago now), and it turns out it was a brilliant adaptation! It’s a cute little book, which is beautifully written. It explores the growth and relationship between two young people in very realistic terms. Juli and Bryce are both relatable characters, and were portrayed wonderfully.

“I could not see Juli coated in powder. Okay, maybe gunpowder, but the white perfumy stuff? Forget it.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Nevernight – Jay Kristoff.

Unfortunately I haven’t got back into this yet.

Zeroes – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti.

It’s just so big!

~*~

I’m up to 20 books so far this year! And I am very happy with that! How many books have you read so far?

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

