February Book Roundup.

February was a really busy month for me, so I’m not entirely sure how I read so much! It was a nice surprise.

~*~

Read:

Shadow and Bone – Leigh Bardugo. Easy. ★★★★☆

So I’ve had this ebook for a while, because I got it cheap. But after reading Bardugo’s “Six of Crows” duology, I was in need of more Grishaverse. And this was it. It was nothing like a expected it to be, and while there were a few things I had a problem with and slight cliches, I did really enjoy the story.

The world which Bardugo has created drew me in once again, and it’s just so great. I love the idea of Grisha, and they are explored so much in this book. I couldn’t wait so I bought the trilogy box set pretty much as soon as I finished reading. A full and more in-depth review of the trilogy is in the works!

“He has served countless kings, faked countless deaths, bided his time, waiting for you.”

.

A Game of Thrones: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1 – George R. R. Martin and Daniel Abraham. Easy. ★★★★☆

I’ve been wanting to check out this graphic novel for a while, and while I was on work experience at the library I saw my chance. It was a wonderful adaptation, and I’m very interested in reading the rest. The artwork is incredible, and there is still quite a bit of reading.

.

Long Way Home – Katie McGarry. Easy. ★★★★★

The third and final “Thunder Road” novel, which I have been impatiently waiting for, is finally here!! Things were hectic from the start, and there’s an incredible plot interwoven with and overarching the romance. Everything feels so real. And I love Violet and Chevy. Just love them.

“I thought loving people was supposed to be easy. But it’s the hardest thing I’ve done.”

.

Small Gods: A Discworld Graphic Novel – Terry Pratchett and Ray Friesen. Easy. ★★★★☆

This just made me certain I want to read the book, “Small Gods“. It’s going to be hilarious!

.

Siege and Storm – Leigh Bardugo. Easy. ★★★★☆

The second book in the “Grisha” trilogy (which started with “Shadow and Bone”), introduced some new amazing characters and locations. It was a stepping stone for sure, and there were a few dull moments; but I think it made it all seem a bit more realistic. There were lulls when there was little to no action, and then suddenly shit would hit the metaphorical fan, and things would speed up straight away.

“I like to have powerful enemies. Makes me feel important.”

.

Ruin and Rising – Leigh Bardugo. Easy. ★★★★☆

The third and final book in the “Grisha” trilogy ended the series well. It didn’t go the way I thought it would, so that was a pleasant surprise; even if that meant it went slightly more cliche and idealistic. It wasn’t a super action paced ending, but there were some really great moments. And squad bonding! The cuties!

“Beauty was your armour. Fragile stuff, all show. But what’s inside you? That’s steel. It’s brave and unbreakable. And it doesn’t need fixing.”

.

Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell. Easy. ★★★★★

Our February BOTM for “The Book Corner” was this fabulous novel, which I’ve been wanting to read for so long! It’s mostly a character driven story, and the characters are so realistic is was almost like reading a biography. Our review will be linked once it’s up!

“I want everyone to meet you. You’re my favourite person of all time.”

.

The Light Fantastic – Terry Pratchett. Easy. ★★★★★

The second “Discworld” novel, which follows the wizard Rincewind, was hilarious and weird and wacky; just as I thought it would be. It was a great adventure, and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Now on to the hundred and one other Discworld books!

“The sun rose slowly, as if it wasn’t sure it was worth all the effort.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Nevernight – Jay Kristoff.

I haven’t got back to this, much to my dismay. I think I’m worried about finishing it, and having to wait AGES for the second book.

Zeroes – Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti.

I’m only a little ways in. I’ll get back to it soon!

Take the Key and Lock Her Up – Ally Carter.

I’m so ready to finish this! It’s the final in the trilogy.

Dead Until Dark – Charlaine Harris.

I borrowed this from the library, because it’s my friends’ favourite book. She accidentally bought me the wrong one for my 21st, so I told her I’d find the first one, read it, and tell her what I thought. I’m not really enjoying it, but I need to finish it soon, because it has to go back to the library!

~*~

Well there you have it. I’m up to 13 books, although I’m not sure I should include the 2 graphic novels. Would you?

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

