January Book Roundup.

Welcome to 2017! Where the future really is brighter than your computer screen. Or at least I hope mine is. We’ll see how that goes.

I had a bit of a rocky start to the reading year, but somehow managed to read five books! Four were quite big too, which makes me feel happy.

~*~

Read:

Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo. Easy. ★★★★★

The follow-up to “Six of Crows” was quite different to its predecessor, but in all the best ways. It was full of creative and insane hijinks, which made me love the motley crew of Crows even more. So many great bits of dialogue between them, which really helped to build up their characters and relationships.

I love Bardugo’s writing style and her use of language. It all effortlessly creates this vivid and starkly realistic world, which the characters seamlessly slip into. I felt in danger the whole way through, and was never quite sure where things were going. A very gripping read!

“How many times have you told me you’re a monster? So be a monster. Be the thing they all fear when they close their eyes at night.”

.

The Great Zoo of China – Matthew Reilly. Easy. ★★★★☆.5

This was our first 2017 BOTM for “The Book Corner“, and it was my pick. It was literally just my excuse to catch up on my Matthew Reilly reading. And I thoroughly enjoyed it! Our review is up here!

“It’s all pretty cool and impressive…if you never saw fucking ‘Jurassic Park’!”

.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – J. K. Rowling. Easy. ★★★★★

So close to finishing my HP re-read! I listened to the audiobook, and boy, Stephen Fry does it again! I love his voice acting; it’s superb. And it made the hours whizz by (as did the writing, but you all knew that already!). Also, I love most in this book how great Ginny is! She was so poorly represented in the movies, that it feels so nice to see how fierce, smart, and sassy this young lady really is. So badass!

This is a great book, although it rates lower on the scale if I had to put the series in order by favourites. It would probably be no.6. But that in no way diminishes my love for the novel (Or my hatred of Snape!).

“You said it once before, that there was time to turn back if we wanted to. We’ve had time, haven’t we? We’re with you whatever happens.”

.

Beyond Band of Brothers – Major Dick Winters. Medium. ★★★★☆

This was a truly interesting addition to the “Band of Brothers” history. It adds a lot more depth and personal reflection on the things Stephen Ambrose discussed in his book (which inspired the mini series). I’ve loved the show for some time, and I really enjoyed Ambrose’s book, so I’m glad that this one struck me also.

Major Winters has always fascinated me, so to see everything from his perspective was quite enlightening. He also covers some things which have previously gone unmentioned, and adds a lot of little anecdotes about his men. I highly recommend this to fans of BOB.

“I’m not sure that anybody who lived through Bastogne hasn’t carried with him, in some hidden ways, the scars of fatigue.”

.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – J. K. Rowling. Easy. ★★★★★

I FINISHED MY RE-READ!!! It’s finally done! I listened to the first half of the audio book and then ploughed on through the hardcover. This one is just so satisfying in wrapping up the series. I know some people think it’s unbearably slow through the middle, but I’ve always loved the pacing. It really works with the story Rowling is trying to tell.

I also love how so many characters grow throughout the book, and it’s not just limited to the Golden Trio; look at Neville being all badass! And Voldemort dying a normal, kind of boring death, is so important to me. It was one of the most annoying things they did in the movie, making his death all crazy and spectacular. The whole point was that he died like a normal man!

“Of course it is happening in your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean it is not real?”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Nevernight – Jay Kristoff.

I have started this, but it’s big and I already don’t want it to end. I will then have to wait ages for the sequel.

~*~

So how is 2017 going for you? Have you read anything yet?

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

