December Book Roundup.

And just like that 2016 is over. Finally.

~*~

Read:

Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy. Medium. ★★★★☆.5

GUYS! I FINALLY FINISHED IT!!! I FINISHED IT!!!

This was a thoroughly enjoyable action-spy-thriller. So many things are going on throughout the entire story, but they all nicely pull together by the end to create a complex and interesting, yet strangely believable story.

Thanks to Dad for gifting me a copy of his favourite book. Sorry that it took me so long to finish reading it!

“(Ding) figured the best thing about the inside of a terrorist’s mind was a 185-grain 10-mm hollow-point bullet entering at high speed.”

.

I’ll Give You The Sun – Jandy Nelson. Easy. ★★★★☆.5

Our last BOTM for “The Book Corner” in 2016! It was amazing. It was as though the story was casually kicking me in the chest, and I just kept crawling back through gravel and shards of glass for another round.

A truly heartfelt story, which I never knew I needed. I very visceral experience, which I highly recommend. You can watch our full review here!

“Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you’ve been in before – you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

.

Dig World – Bajo and Hex. Easy. ★★★★☆

The first book in the “Pixel Raiders” series by two of my favourite TV personalities. It was short and sweet. Great for kids who are into gaming and reading, or that you’re trying to get into reading. It was sort of like “Ready Player One” for kids!

.

The Tale of Troy – Roger Lancelyn Green. Easy. ★★★☆☆

So many names with difficult pronunciations; I’m glad I didn’t have to read this out to any one. But all together an interesting tale. Sometimes I find it nice to revisit stories that you know things about, and get all the details.

.

Harry Potter and the Curse Child – John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, J.K. Rowling. Easy. ★★★★☆

I went into this with absolutely no expectations, and was pleasantly surprised! There were things that I didn’t like, and there were things that I loved. I honestly think it would be incredible to see as a live production.

“In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”

.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay – J.K. Rowling. Easy. ★★★★★

I had never read a screen play before, and this was just delightful. Easy to read, and felt like I was just watching the film again! I did pick up a bit more about the creatures by reading it, which was great. And Newt, my god. So adorable.

“I know you have rather backwards laws about relations with non-magic people. That you’re not meant to befriend them, that you can’t marry them, which seems mildly absurd to me.”

.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling. Easy. ★★★★★

It’s been a while since I reread “Goblet of Fire“, but I finally got back to my “Harry Potter” reread. I was quite busy so I ended up listening to the audio book; read by the wonderful Stephen Fry. He was incredible! Fingers crossed I can finished rereading the series soon!

“Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have.”

.

The Grift of the Magi – Ally Carter. Easy. ★★★★★

A Christmas themed novella in the “Heist Society” series. OMG! Soooo good! I was so happy to find this. All the characters are back, and as amazing as ever! But seriously, I NEED BOOK FOUR!!

“The kids in Kat’s family had the kinds of tests that come with potential prison sentences if you failed.”

.

The Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo. Easy. ★★★★★

I kept seeing this one of instagram and it’s a hella pretty hardcover, so I bought it and its sequel. It was really good. Like, really good. It’s a heist book, set in a sort of Industrial Revolution/ Magic type world. I’m really excited to read it’s sequel, “Crooked Kingdom“.

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

~*~

I HAVE NO CURRENTLY READINGS! (because I stopped pretending I was reading Joss Whedon’s biography).

~*~

My final tally for 2016 was 75 books read!! I’m really happy with this and hope that I can get through heaps of my TBR shelves in the coming year. My 2016 “Wrap Up” post is up, so check out what my top ten books were from this past year! I hope you all have a great new year. See you in 2017!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

