The Battle of Hackham Heath – John Flanagan

The Battle of Hackham Heath‘ by John Flanagan was published in November 2016. It is the second book in the “Ranger’s Apprentice: The Early Years” series, which is a prequel series to the “Ranger’s Apprentice“. [you can buy a copy here!]

img_6012

I just love John Flanagan’s books. They’re so easy to read, and full of sweet, funny, and thrilling scenes. I particularly love this prequel series, because we get to see some of our favourite characters when they were younger. And we also get to see the events that lead to the first Rangers Apprentice book, “The Ruins of Gorlan”. But it never feels forced, or repetitive. Instead it feels just right, filling in the blanks.

The action and the strategy plays out just as well as all the other books; it’s all very unique and just written so well. I can visualise all the fighting and action easily in my head. The balance of the action is perfect. I never felt like it wasn’t realistic, although there were times where I predicted roughly what would happen.

The characters are just as amazing as ever. They’re all so individual, and funny, and realistic. There is a wide range of personalities, which complement each other and create conflict. I love how we get to see the Ranger Corps being rebuilt, and we get to see King Duncan’s wife, Rosalind. This book adds even more depth to the RA world, which is something I really love because I’m so invested in this world.

All in all, this book was a classic RA book, and I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait for more, although I’m not sure what’s coming next.

~*~

Favourite Character:

So easy. Halt. I love him. And I love seeing him as a young man. He’s hilarious. So dry and sarcastic.

Favourite Moment:

There are so many, but the epilogue was just a perfect way to end it.

Favourite Quote:

“I suppose it takes a certain mindset to be a miner.”

“I suppose they say the same thing about Rangers.”

Rating:

★★★★

~*~

The year is rapidly coming to a close, but I’m hoping to get a few more books read and reviewed before then. Keep an eye out for them!

Also, please let me know what you thought of my review, and the book if you’ve read it.

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

