November Book Roundup.

November was super duper busy so I didn’t get much read. *sad face*

~*~

Read:

A Tyranny of Petticoats – edited by Jessica Spotwood. Easy. ★★★★☆

I really enjoyed this collection of short stories. They were all quite different, and very unique. I liked how they spanned many different time periods, locations, and peoples. Also, as an Australian who has seen a lot of American movies and read a lot of American books, it was nice to properly see the change in America over time from a female perspective.

My favourite story was probably “Los Destinos” by Leslye Walton, followed closely by “The Legendary Garrett Girls” by Y. S. Lee and “High Stakes” by Andrea Cremer.

“Folks around here like to say we came from the stars. Perhaps it’s simpler to think of us not as human but as creatures made of stardust–that if you cut us, not blood but constellations will pour from out wounds.”

.

The Battle of Hackham Heath – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

This is the second book in the “Ranger’s Apprentice: The Early Years” series, which is a prequel series to the “Ranger’s Apprentice” series. The story follows Halt and Crowley as they help King Duncan prepare for war against Morgarath. It’s a great read, and a wonderful addition to the world of the “Ranger’s Apprentice”. I love seeing all the characters again, and the action scenes are brilliant. I wrote a more in depth review, which you can read here!

“I suppose it takes a certain mindset to be a miner.”“I suppose they say the same thing about Rangers.”

.

Rivers of London – Ben Aaronovitch. ★★★★☆

This book was November’s BOTM for “The Book Corner“, and you can watch our full review here! I quite liked this comedic magical mystery story, which is set in London. It was funny, witty, and just dark enough. I’m highly considering reading the rest of the series.

“I figured if I started avoiding certain streets just because somebody’d died on them, I’d have to move to Aberystwyth.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy.

I’M TWO THIRDS THROUGH!!! IT’S GOING TO BE DONE BY NEXT YEAR! YAY!

(Also, I am actually enjoying it.)

Joss Whedon: The Biography – Amy Pascale.

This, however, will not be finished by next year. Maybe I’ll just take it off my currently reading. I don’t remember the bit I have read, so I’ll have to start over anyway.

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo.

Loving this. But like I said, I was really busy in November, so I’m only a little ways in.

~*~

It’s only 24 days until Christmas.

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

