The Four Legendary Kingdoms – Matthew Reilly

It is 4LK’s one month anniversary!!! Yay! So here’s my review. I read it the day it came out, but I wanted to give it a little time to percolate.

~*~

The Four Legendary Kingdoms‘ by Matthew Reilly was published in October 2016. It’s the fourth book in his ‘Jack West Jr‘ action series. [you can buy a copy here!]

The novel follows Jack West Jr as he wakes up in an underground cell to find a masked attacker with a knife charging at him. He’s been chosen to compete in a series of deadly challenges designed to fulfil an ancient ritual. With the fate of the Earth at stake, Jack will be tested like he has never been tested before.

img_5864

Oh. My. Giddy Aunt. Seriously. This book was amazing! I love love love Matthew Reilly, and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on another Jack West book. In fact, I went looking for it the day it came out, and when I couldn’t find it I bought the ebook. So impatient. And so worth the wait.

I’m going to try really hard not to have any spoilers in this review, so I’m sorry if it all sounds a tad bit vague. But if I let myself fangirl too much, everything will come out.

Alright let’s start with characters. Everyone’s older for one. It’s set 7 years after the last book (because that’s when the last one was published), which is really cool, because you get to see Lily and Alby as young adults. All our faves are back (ALL OF THEM *hint hint*), and bunch of new characters. I really love Reilly’s characterisation. All the characters feel real, although perhaps not as though they are everyday characters. There are a lot of characters with rather extreme personalities and views, but they fit in with the context. I hated the villains; so many despicable people. And the Jester nearly gave me nightmares, but let’s not go there.

On to plot. I know some people don’t like Reilly’s style of fast-paced action-movie style, but I personally love it. It gives everything an urgent feel, like the world is about to end (which is the whole point). There is never a dull moment, and it makes Jack’s quest feel so much more important. You fear for everyone’s lives, and can hardly see how they’re going to make it out of each situation. Reilly loves doing to unexpected, and even the unbelievable. It’s very helpful when reading his books that you suspend your disbelief and just let the story pull you along on a wild ride.

I also love Reilly’s style of writing. He loves putting in little pop culture references (a character briefly mentions One Direction, which was hilarious), and the dialogue always feels organic, even when a character is going into an extensive explanation. I had to stop myself some squealing every time Lily calls Jack ‘Dad’, and at some other times (but again, I won’t go into that).

I just really loved this book. If you haven’t read Matthew Reilly, you should. If you haven’t read this book yet, you should. Just read all the books.

~*~

Favourite Character:

Jack. Or maybe Lily. I don’t know, there are so many amazing characters!

Favourite Moment:

Ohh, when we get a certain glimpse of a certain character. Wow that was so vague, but if you’ve read it you probably know what I mean.

Favourite Quote:

“The dogs, it had to be said, were a bit of a shock to Jack’s falcon, Horus. The old bird tolerated them like a teenage girl tolerates a little brother.”

Rating:

★★★★

~*~

I have two more reviews to post over the next week, so keep an eye out! Also let me know what you thought of this review, and, if you’ve read 4LK, what you thought of the book.

– Gabi

 

Leave a Reply

