September Book Roundup.

Guys, Hawaii was amazing! I had such a lovely holiday, and I managed to get some books read too! I’m also really close to meeting my GoodReads challenge. Two books left!

~*~

Read:

Lemonade Mouth – Mark Peter Hughes. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

lemonade-mouth

I read this eBook while on my holiday in Hawaii. This was alright. Nothing altogether special about it. I can see what the author was trying to do with these weird and quirky outsiders, but it still felt rather cliche and predictable. It did make me want to re-watch the Disney movie based in it though!

“I was reminded once again how a song really can change the world.”

.

The Emperor of Nihon-Ja – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

img_5455

While on holidays I listened to this audio book. I’d already read the book several years ago, and I’ve listened to a few of Flanagan’s other books as audio books. This book, the tenth in the ‘Rangers Apprentice‘ series, is just more of the same action and adventure, with his trademark humour and wit. It’s just a great story. The audio book was super easy to listen to as well.

“There are always risks in battle. It’s a dangerous business. The trick is to take the right ones.”

.

A Wizard of Earthsea – Ursula Le Guin. Easy. ★★☆☆☆.5

img_5447

Our BOTM for “The Book Corner” was picked by Anthony. The premise was good, I liked the world, but I felt like things could have had more depth. This felt like a teaser for a larger, more gripping story. I didn’t once feel completely engaged in the story, or as though I had been pulled in. I didn’t care about the characters at all.

It was a light, quick, and fairly well-written read, but I was a tad bit disappointed by it.

“Ged had learned all he could of dragons at the School, but it is one thing to read about dragons and another to meet them.”

.

The Ghostfaces – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

img_5446

Ugh. Have I ever mentioned that I love John Flanagan? Because I do. I have never been disappointed by a book of his, and this is no exception. The sixth book in his ‘Brotherband Chronicles‘, this book is a rollicking good time filled with his characteristic charm and wit. I laughed out loud a number of times, and although I guessed the ending, I still loved it to pieces. I wrote a more in-depth review which you can find here!

“We all know the theory that the world is a huge saucer, supported on the back of a giant tortoise…We know that to the east, there’s Hibernia, Araluen and then the huge land mass of the continent… It makes sense to believe that there must be a similar land mass to the west to counterbalance it. Otherwise, the world would overbalance and tip off the tortoise’s back.”

.

American Gods – Neil Gaiman. Medium. ★★★★☆

img_5448

Just as you’d expect with a Neil Gaiman novel, this was a weird and wacky ride. It was a relatively simple concept but taken to the nth degree. There were so many things going on that if you blink you’ll miss something important. But that’s something I’ve come to love about Gaiman’s books.

It’s an original concept, executed wonderfully, with a cast of incredible characters. I honestly can’t wait for the TV show, because I can easily see how it could be adapted.

“All your questions can be answered, if that is what you want. But once you learn your answers, you can never unlearn them.”

.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs. Easy. ★★★★☆

img_5445

The first book in a trilogy, this has just been made into a Tim Burton movie, so I thought I’d read it before I went to see it. The ideas were all really great and quirky, and the story moved along nicely. I enjoyed the thrilling action sequences, and the characterisation was done well. The cast of characters were occasionally hard to tell apart, but they were all great so I let that slide. I particularly liked the addition of all the photos that get discussed. It makes everything seem so much more real, and really helped me engage with the story.

I’m really interested to see where the next two books take the characters!

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy.

So while I haven’t looked at this yet, I have a plan to read it as much as I can next week! I won’t pick up another book until it’s done! (or I’ll try not to anyway) It will be read by the end of the year, that is a promise!

Joss Whedon: The Biography – Amy Pascale.

I don’t want to end the year with any currently readings so I should probably get back into this!

First and Then – Emma Mills.

I have actually already finished this, it just overlapped months!

~*~

I have a number of book reviews that I’m working on, and I am hoping that I can keep up with posting regularly. Let me know if there’s anything you would like to see me review!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

