August Book Roundup.

August has flown by while I’ve counted down the days to my trip to Hawaii! I’m leaving later tonight, and I’m super excited! Hopefully I can get some books read on the plane and on the beach!

Anyway, I somehow managed to get 10 books read in August! Ten!

~*~

Read:

The Martian – Andy Weir. Medium. ★★★★★

img_4836

I had already watched the film adaptation twice before reading this, so I saw Matt Damon as Mark Watney the entire time; but I’m cool with that. It was a really good adaptation, so all the characters felt real. It was incredibly hilarious, even more so than the film (which I had been hoping for). And I really enjoyed the way that Watney talked himself through the science and maths of things (which we read as logs).

The science is complicated, but written in such a way that someone which little scientific knowledge, but perhaps a bit of logic, can follow. I thought the in-depth science etc really complimented the story. If it had been reduced any further I think that would have made the story less believable; you have to believe that this botanist-cross-mechanical-engineer would be able to find solutions to the problems that arise when trying to survive stranded on Mars. And I did.

“Yes, of course duct tape works in a near-vacuum. Duct tape works anywhere. Duct tape is magic and should be worshipped.”
.

Maresi – Maria Turtschaninoff. Easy. ★★★★☆

img_4840

The first book in the ‘Red Abbey Chronicles‘, we are introduced to this incredibly vivid world in which Maresi lives. It’s an incredibly simple story, but the language manages to paint beautiful scenes. There is realism in it’s portrayal of people, but there’s also an underlying magical tone. Nothing particularly complicated happens with the plot, but it is by no means a shallow experience. Everything has incredible and effortless depth.

I’m really interested to learn more about this world!

“I do not know where the ending is. It does not feel like it has come yet. But the beginning is easy. It all began when Jai came to the island.”

.

Troll Mountain – Matthew Reilly. Easy. ★★★★☆

img_4876

This was a great little book with Reilly’s characteristic fast pace and intense action, but aimed at a much younger audience. I think it’s perfect for that audience. It’s bit too simple and straight forward for me to enjoy as much as Reilly’s other books, but that’s cool. I still enjoyed it and it was a quick read.

“Many humans live their entire lives without questioning the ‘truths’ they’ve been told.”

.

These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4874

The first book in the ‘Starbound‘ trilogy, I got this book a while ago when the ebook was on sale for a couple of dollars. And boy, am I glad I finally got around to reading it (I ordered it, and the next two books as paperbacks almost straight after finishing it!). They so pretty!

But on a serious note: this book was a goddamned sci-fi/romance roller-coaster ride. There were times when I thought I knew what was going to happen next, or where a certain hint was leading, and boy have I never been so wrong in my entire life. The character development, the setting, the world-building; it was all done so well. I really can’t wait to see what the other books have in store!

“But who names a starship the Icarus? What kind of man possesses that much hubris, that he dares it to fall?”

.

Scarlet – Marissa Meyer. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4838

Yes, I finally got around to reading the second book in ‘The Lunar Chronicles‘, and yes, I loved it. It introduces a number of new characters, most which are to do with the fairytale, ‘Little Red Riding Hood‘. I thought it was done so well. It was fresh and intense, and improved upon the foundation laid by ‘Cinder‘.

“I think I realised that I would rather die because I betrayed them, than live because I betrayed you.”

.

Cress – Marissa Meyer. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4837

I literally started reading this, the third in the series, right after I finished ‘Scarlet’. This one uses the fairytale skeleton of ‘Rapunzel‘, and, again, it was done so well! New characters, new world building, so much more action! This series just gets better with each book. Oh, and Cress is too precious for this world.

“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

.

Winter – Marissa Meyer. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4841

The day after I finished ‘Cress’, I went out and bought the fourth and final book in the series. I read the 823 book in two days; I couldn’t put it down! So much happened, and I think it tied up the series so well. I mean all the ends were tied up, but it’s a fairytale retelling, so that doesn’t bother me too much. This one introduced Princess Winter, and has her as a more central character. She is ‘Snow White‘. Again, I thought her character was incredibly interesting. All the characters are very three dimensional; they’re realistic and flawed. I’m so glad I finally got around to finishing this series; it was just as good as everyone keeps saying!

“One should never save cake for later when it can be eaten now.”

.

1984 – George Orwell. Medium. ★★★☆☆

img_4842

This ever-enduring classic was our August BOTM for “The Book Corner“. It was fucking depressing, but an incredible piece of literature.

“The choice for mankind lies between freedom and happiness and for the great bulk of mankind, happiness is better.”

.

This Shattered World – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4879

This is the second book in the ‘Starbound’ trilogy. It was so incredibly different to the first book, ‘These Broken Stars’, but in all the best ways. It hit the ground running from literally the first page. There was so much at stake, and the two new main characters were perfect. They dance around each other and their own obligations and moral codes. I loved the new setting, Avon, which felt so real from the first chapter. Everything was done so well.

“What, did he think I was just going to melt into his arms? Start a tragic and dramatic tale of star-crossed lovers on a war-torn planet?”

.

Their Fractured World – Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4877

Oh. My. Gosh! This is the third and final ‘Starbound’ novel, and it was amazing! So fast paced, and full of action, and making all the intertwining stories and characters finally meet up and make everything clear. All the characters meet up about half way through and that was so exciting. The two new main characters, Sofia and Gideon (who we’ve actually met before), were incredible. They were strong, and flawed, and realistic. I loved them both, and how they interacted with each other. I’m just sad that it’s all come to an end!

“But free will is what it means to be human, and no one can determine the path you take through this universe. Choice is our greatest right, our greatest gift-and our greatest responsibility.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy.

Don’t look at me.

Joss Whedon: The Biography – Amy Pascale.

This book is deceptively thick.

~*~

I have read 52 books so far this year! I’m really happy with that, and even a little bit surprised!! How many books have you read this year?

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

