July Book Roundup.

July has come and gone! I participated in another photo challenge on IG, which was fun. I got a bunch of books read, and bought a bunch more; although I didn’t get as many as I would have liked read in my two week break. And I didn’t read any more of the Tom Clancy book that I’ve had sitting there glaring at me since February. But I digress.

~*~

Read:

Defending Taylor – Miranda Kenneally. Easy. ★★★★★

cover81995-medium

The latest in the ‘Hundred Oaks‘ series, I received an electronic ARC via NetGalley for an honest review. ‘Defending Taylor’ introduces a new young lady and a new sport; Taylor and soccer, respectively. I really enjoyed this book. It had all of Kenneally’s characteristic charm and realism. Taylor could be a bit annoying at times, but she grew a lot as a person throughout. You can read a more in-depth review that I wrote here!

“Mom wants me to date somebody with ‘proper breeding’, as if I’m a horse or we live in regency England.”

.

The Fate of Ten – Pittacus Lore. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4590

The sixth, and second last, novel in the “Lorien Legacies” series (followed by the next book I read). I knew it was, so I didn’t read it when it came out; instead I left it for a year because I knew it would have a cliffhanger and that I’d want to read the last book straight away. I did, so I’m glad I waited. This book was good, but was really just setting up the last book. They easily could have been one slightly larger book, but that wouldn’t drag it out enough for the publishers, right?

“This is war, and people are going to die. Friends are going to die. I’ve come to accept the pain, to take the ugliness for granted. So it can be a little stunning when something good actually happens.”

.

United as One – Pittacus Lore. Easy. ★★★★★

img_4591

I FINALLY FINISHED THIS SERIES!!! It was such a good ending, though it only just came out so I won’t talk about it too much. But ugh, it was so good, and I’m actually kinda sad to see it finished.

“When Pittacus Lore had the chance to kill Sektrkus Ra all those centuries ago, he couldn’t do it. History will not repeat itself.”

.

The Enchanted Island – Ellie O’Neill. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

img_4587

I struggled through this, and the only reason I finished it was because I wanted to know how it ended; it was disappointing so I kind of wish I had just stopped. In the end it didn’t really go anywhere, and while the main character (who was incredibly insufferable throughout the entire novel) had a bit of character development, we never get to see where it actually leads her. This book held so much promise. I loved the island, and the idea of Irish folklore and ‘magic’ being mixed in. I enjoyed O’Neill’s other book “Reluctantly Charmed“. It’s not a bad book, it just didn’t quite live up to my expectations (which really wasn’t helped by the fact that I spent most of the book wanting to slap Maeve).

(I actually couldn’t pick a favourite quote, and there were no quotes on GoodReads. Oh well!)

.

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern. Medium. ★★★★☆

img_4588

This enchanting novel was our read for “The Book Corner” in July (you can watch our review here!). I really enjoyed it. It was fantastical, and I never knew where it was going. It did take me a little while to become invested in the story and its characters. I particularly enjoyed how mysterious and intriguing everything was, particularly the magic. It was such a well crafted novel, and I highly recommend it.

“Stories have changed, my dear boy. There are no more battles between good and evil, no monsters to slay, no maidens in need of rescue. Most maidens are perfectly capable of rescuing themselves in my experience, at least the ones worth something, in any case.”

.

The Colour of Magic – Terry Pratchett. Medium. ★★★★☆

img_4589

This is the first Discworld novel, but it’s the second that I’ve read; behind “Hogfather” which we read for ‘The Book Corner’ last December. It was just as wacky and wonderful! It was nice to read more about the Discworld itself. It gave context to a lot of the things in “Hogfather”, which I sort of just guessed at. It’s a completely original and completely crazy concept, but it really works. I can’t wait to get my hands on some more Discworld books. I’m not really sure where to go from here because there are quite a few! Any suggestions?

“It was octarine, the colour of magic. It was alive and glowing and vibrant and it was the undisputed pigment of the imagination, because wherever it appeared it was a sign that mere matter was a servant of the powers of the magical mind. It was enchantment itself.
But Rincewind always thought it looked a sort of greenish-purple.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy.

I’ve got nothing to say.

Joss Whedon: The Biography – Amy Pascale.

I haven’t touched this one either. Shame on me.

Maresi – Maria Turtschanioff.

I’ve read about a third of this, and it’s really good so far! Hopefully I’ll finish it in a couple of days.

~*~

Here’s to reading more books in August!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

