Walk the Edge – Katie McGarry

It may have taken me a number of weeks, but I finally got around to writing down my thoughts on one of my favourite YA romances to be released so far this year!

~*~

Walk the Edge‘ by Katie McGarry was first published in March this year. It is a Young Adult fiction romance novel, set around a motorcycle club in the little town of Snowflake. It’s the second in the ‘Thunder Road‘ series. [you can buy a copy here!] My review of the first book in the series can also be found here.

The novel follows Breanna, an extremely smart  and responsible young woman who comes from a large and rather demanding family. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behaviour puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire – and brings fellow senior Thomas ‘Razor’ Turner into her life. Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, where good girls like Breanna don’t belong. But after he learns that she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them, he promises to help her. She in return will help him find out what really happened to his mother.

22f164ea76bdacf63411d3566261a987

I actually loved this book more than the first one; and I loved ‘Nowhere But Here’ a lot. I was eagerly awaiting its publication; quite literally counting down the days on my calendar. I saw it in Target a few days before I thought it was coming out and snapped it up. It was read before the night was over.

Breanna as the female lead was amazing. She’s incredibly smart, but she struggles with fitting in, both at school and with her family. In fact one of the things that I thought was well done was Breanna’s relationship with her family, and the distinct and easy characterisation of the family members. Breanna’s the fifth of nine children. The interactions she has with her siblings felt so realistic; her older siblings who see her as a baby sibling, and the younger siblings who see her as the ‘mother’ figure because she has to baby-sit them so much. Even her complicated relationship with her parents was encapsulated perfectly. I honestly, can’t imagine having nine kids, but I can imagine that it’s hard work, and that sometimes things would get postponed or overlooked.

Anyway, back to Breanna. She was a well rounded character, but not at all clichéd. She had times of courage and bravery, and also times of extreme annoyance and burning anger. To me she felt like a real person, and I think that’s probably the highest compliment you can give an author for their characterisation.

Razor was an interesting character as well. I wanted to know so much more about him since the moment he was introduced in the first book, and I’m really glad that we got to see into his mind. We finally get to understand his daily struggles with his mum death, and with not trusting his dad.

As a couple, Breanna and Razor are just so squee inducing. They’re actually quite similar in many ways (smart, dedicated, loyal), but different enough to keep it interesting; basically they bring the best out in each other. And what kind of envious romantic relationship would it be if they didn’t? (answer: a shit one).

The book has alternating point-of-view chapters, which really allowed me to fall in love with both Breanna and Razor separately, before I fell in love with them as a couple. Their story wasn’t as closely intertwined as that of Emily and Oz in ‘Nowhere But Here’. They are more distinctive and developed characters, who meet and keep meeting, and then attach themselves to each other. That way we got to see more of who they were without each other, and I think that’s important; particularly so that those younger people reading don’t get the idea that you have to be in a relationship to be someone. Not true guys. So not true. But sometimes you find a person who makes you an even better person. And that’s a much better message to be sending. You go McGarry!

But I digress once again. I also really loved the little scenes where we got to see Oz and Emily again; cozying up and just being grossly in love. It was brilliant. Same goes for seeing Chevy and Violet. They give me such hope for the third book. It’s going to be about them, and I can’t wait! No, seriously, it’s supposed to be published in January 2017. I can’t wait that long!!

~*~

Favourite Character:

Breanna. She’s just this really interesting and complex character that I don’t think I’ve read before. She’s refreshing.

Favourite Moment:

There’s this moment towards the end of the book where Breanna and her older sister have a heart to heart. I cried through it. And it really didn’t go how you might expect. I thought it was extremely well written.

Favourite Quote:

“Yeah, I know. I’m supposed to be this twenty-first-century woman and obsessed with a man desiring me for my massive intellect. I am woman, hear me roar, and all that stuff, but for once, it would have been really freaking awesome to be the girl in the pretty dress left alone with the gorgeous bad boy who wants to kiss me.”

Rating:

★★★★

~*~

If you’ve read ‘Walk the Edge’ please let me know what you thought of it in the comments! My next review will hopefully be up within a week. I’m going to leave it as a surprise, but I can say that it was a book that I absolutely loved!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

