April Book Roundup.

During April I struggled with finding time to read, but I somehow managed to still get another six books read!

~*~

Read:

Peace on Earth – Gordon Stevens. Medium. ★★★☆☆

img_3691

I finally got around to finishing this one! It was gifted to me on my 21st birthday last year by a family friend, because I’d asked people to give me their favourite books if they wanted to give me a present. It follows the interweaving of a number of stories. It’s an action thriller, which just wasn’t quite fast paced enough for me. It involves terrorism and a plane hijacking.

It took me a while to really get into the story. I think this was largely because of the multitude of plot lines. But once I did get into it I finished it quickly, and enjoyed it thoroughly. It was the sort of story that really got me thinking, and offered a host of characters who were so very realistic in the way that none of them were wholly ‘good’ or ‘evil’. They were human.

“It was interesting how events like hijacks depended on the media, how without the media there probably wouldn’t even be any hijacks.”

.

Peter Pan – J. M. Barrie. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

img_3640

This classic is actually our April read for ‘The Book Corner‘. Our full review will be up soon. I didn’t really like the book. I’m glad I finally got around to reading it though. Seriously, just watch the video. It’s easier that way.

“‘Second to the right and straight on till morning.’ That, Peter had told Wendy, was the way to the Neverland; but even birds, carrying maps and consulting them at windy corners, could not have sighted it with these instructions. Peter, you see, just said anything that came into his head.”

.

The Return of the King – J. R. R. Tolkien. Hard. ★★★☆☆

img_3638

As the third and final book in the ‘Lord of the Rings‘ series, and I finally got around to finishing it! I’m so proud of myself! Anyways, I thought it was alright. I can see why people love the series so much, but it’s just not for me. The first half of the second book, which detailed the Battle of Helm’s Deep, is probably my favourite.

This one really just felt like more of the same, and while I loved many of the characters and things they got to do, it didn’t really amaze me. I think I’ll just stick with watching the extended editions of the movies; one read through of the books is enough.

“The whole thing is quite hopeless, so it’s no good worrying about tomorrow. It probably won’t come.”

.

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. ★★★★★

img_3637

Oh. My. Goodness. This, this was incredible. The first in a new trilogy by two Australian authors (represent!), this book is actually a collection of files which tells the story of the invasion of the mining planet of Kerenza, and subsequently what happens to the survivors.

I loved literally everything about this book; from the way it was presented, to the characters, to the writing style, to the plot. Prepare to be captivated. Seriously, I wasn’t expecting to get so attached to the characters, or for them to feel so real, because of the style. But through transcriptions of interviews, audio and video recordings, IM chats, emails, and the internal log of the ship’s AI, we learn a lot, and the characters really shine through. I put that down to damn good writing.

I’m not sure I can make it to October in order to get the second book. I want it now!

“Perhaps bravery is simply the face humanity wraps around its collective madness.”

.

All Fall Down – Ally Carter. ★★★★★

img_3693

I also finally got around to reading this! I have loved all of Carter’s previous books, so I was pretty sure I’d love this as well; I was right. It’s a mystery teen fiction novel, which focuses of the fictional country of Adria, specifically Embassy Row, where all the allied countries have their embassies. Grace is the granddaughter of the Ambassador of the United States, and has come back to Adria to live with him.

I won’t go into the plot too much, because that would easily give everything away. And that in turn would ruin the experience of the book. Suffice to say that it was a quick and easy read, with come interesting and diverse characters. The dialogue was witty and fun, and the fictional country felt quite real.

“For the first time I realize how perilous peace can be. I appreciate the tightrope that my grandfather has spent his whole life trying to walk. And now, more than ever, I grow terrified that I’m going to make us all fall down.”

.

See How They Run – Ally Carter. ★★★★★

img_3692

As soon as I finished the first book in the ‘Embassy Row‘ series I picked this up. It ended in a bit of a cliff hanger, so… Anyway, this was just as fast paced and enjoyable as ‘All Fall Down’, and we get to see more of Grace and her ‘problems’. That sounds really bad, but if you read it you’ll understand. Again I don’t want to go into details, it would ruin the story.

We get to see more of her merry band of Embassy Row teens, and that means more Alexei. Trust me, that’s a really good thing. Anyway, more mysteries abound, and things are falling apart, and Grace is struggling to stay on top of it all. Again, it ended in a cliff hanger. Kinda need the next one to come out already. But there isn’t even a publication date.

“You are my best friend. And sometimes I like to check and make sure my friends aren’t dead.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy.

Haven’t even looked at it all month. I feel kinda guilty.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J. K. Rowling.

I haven’t really read much of this, but I really want to get into it!

~*~

I’m really hoping to just sit down and catch up on my currently readings, and make some more progress in my HP reread. I managed to get a number of my currently readings from March done during April, and I’m hoping I can do it again in May. I don’t like having books sitting around half read for ages. We’ll see!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

