March Book Round Up.

I am quite pleased with how my reading challenge is going. I was in a bit of a rut at the beginning of the month, but thankfully managed to get myself out of it. I ended up getting a lot more read than I originally thought. Yay for that!

~*~

Read:

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – Harry Potter. Easy. ★★★★★

img_3553

The third book in the ‘Harry Potter‘ series is my favourite of the seven. I really enjoyed rereading this book. Probably my favourite part is getting to meet Remus and Sirius for the first time all over again. Basically I spent the whole book hoping things would go better for them all, even though I knew what happens. A girl can dream, right?

Anyway, I think this one is where the series starts to get a lot darker and more complicated. It’s a great adventure, with new longer lasting characters. We learn a lot more about Harry’s family, and his parents. I love the Marauders. I really want a Marauders book.

“You think the dead we loved truly ever leave us? You think that we don’t recall them more clearly in times of great trouble?”

.

Cinder – Marissa Meyer. Easy. ★★★★☆

img_3547

This month Anthony and I read the first book in ‘The Lunar Chronicles‘ for our book club, The Book Corner. It is a futuristic, sci-fi, almost steampunk, retelling of the fairytale, “Cinderella“. We both really enjoyed it, and I personally can’t wait to read the rest of the series. It was a wonderful retelling, following the general storyline, but with unique twists. The characters were likeable and relatively well fleshed out. The world was greatly established, and easily felt real. Really it was just establishing everything for the later books. You can find our full review here.

“’I’m not sure I would label it a ‘survivor’,’ said Iko, her sensor darkening with disgust. ‘It looks more like a rotting pumpkin.’”

.

Lone Survivor – Marcus Luttrell. Medium. ★★★★★

img_3548

This novel is the autobiography of Marcus Luttrell, detailing his journey to become a United States Navy SEAL, and his life changing experience in the Hindu Kush, Afghanistan, in 2005.

I personally loved all the background information; from his childhood, to BUD/S (which I’ve always found interesting), and to his relationships with his teammates. For me, that made the shit he had to go through just that bit more insane, and made my heart break so much quicker. I cried a fair bit in this, even though I’d already seen the movie. It’s an incredible story.

This is his story, and he has the right to share it in the way that he wants. Sure there are times when it is clearly just his side of the story, but there is no possible way for a large part of it to be any other way. It’s obvious this was his way of dealing, and we don’t know what else went on afterwards; who he spoke to about the story etc. We just know what he has told us. So really, you have to take it all with a grain of salt.

“I will never quit. My nation expects me to be physically harder and mentally stronger than my enemies. If knocked down I will get back up, every time. I will draw on every remaining ounce of strength to protect my teammates and to accomplish our mission. I am never out of the fight.”

.

Wayfarer – Lili St. Crow. Easy. ★★★★☆

img_3552

The second book in the ‘Tales of Beauty and Madness‘series, this book follows Cami’s friend, Ellen Sinder. It started off slower than the first book, but once it did it was a spooky rollicking ride. There were, thankfully, a few twists I didn’t see coming; though there were quite a few things that were easily guessed, but that’s mostly because it shadowed the fairytale structure of ‘Cinderella‘.

I quite liked the characters, and they all seemed really realistic. Same with the things that Ellie goes through with her wicked step-mother, and the reasons she has for not seeking assistance from anyone. If you want to know more about my thoughts I wrote a more in depth review, and you can find it here.

“The first time she’d fully understood that the planet was round and hurtling through space, she’d been terrified. Now she was just unsurprised. Of course nothing could be steady. Of course it all had to spin. It just made sense.”

.

Kin – Lili St. Crow. Easy. ★★★★☆

img_3551

This is the third book in the ‘Tales of Beauty and Madness‘ series, and follows Cami and Ellie’s friend, Ruby de Varre. She is being faced with pressure from her Grandmother to be more responsible and find someone to get engaged to. It’s all really interesting, and I love the established world; there’s not so much world building, as the world feels already built. I love all the kin talk.

Again, one of the things that I loved was how realistic the main character is. Ruby looked super confident and everything in the first two books, but in this one we see that it’s mostly just a front. She wants everyone to think she’s got it sorted. I wrote a more in depth review of this, and you can find it here.

“Oh nothing. I’m just probably going to be married off or collared because Gran thinks I’m too Wild. After expecting me to be Wild enough to qualify as rootfamily for years. When really I’m not Wild enough, and not sub enough to be calm and collected. Stuck in between. No big deal.”

.

Walk the Edge – Katie McGarry. Easy. ★★★★★

img_3561

The second book in the ‘Thunder Road‘ series, the novel follows the story of Razor and Breanna. I loved the first book, but I loved this one even more. Breanna was great female lead. She’s smart, but she struggles with fitting in, both at school and with her family. Thomas ‘Razor’ Turner was an interesting character too. I wanted to know more about him in the first book, and I’m glad we got to see into him mind. As a pair they are similar in many ways, and yet different in many others. But most importantly they worked so well together.

Ugh. McGarry does it again. A unique and steamy romance novel, with realistic characters and a well paced plot. Also the little glimpses we see of Oz and Emily, and all the other characters from the first book, were really nice. I can’t wait to see who is the focus of the third book. I’m hoping it’s Chevy and Violet.

“Yeah, I know. I’m supposed to be this twenty-first-century woman and obsessed with a man desiring me for my massive intellect. I am woman, hear me roar, and all that stuff, but for once, it would have been really freaking awesome to be the girl in the pretty dress left alone with the gorgeous bad boy who wants to kiss me.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

Peace On Earth – Gordon Stevens.

Yep. I’m still reading this one.

Rainbow Six – Tom Clancy.

I haven’t looked at this since last month. I promise Dad, I’ll get to it soon!

The Return of the King – J. R. R. Tolkien.

I have finally started the last instalment of the LOTR trilogy! It’s going well so far, starting with the siege of Minas Tirith.

~*~

I have more currently readings than I would like, so I really hope to get them all read during April. I don’t like leaving a book for too long, but some times it can’t be helped.

Until next time, may all the books you read be good ones!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

