Nameless – Lili St. Crow

I’ve finally decided to start writing proper reviews of some of the books that I read. Probably not all (I won’t commit to every book, because we all know I won’t do that).

I will still do my monthly wrap ups, but will link to the longer reviews if they are done!

~*~

Nameless‘ by Lili St. Crow was first published in 2013. It is a modern day, supernatural retelling of the 1800s fairytale ‘Snow White‘ by the Brothers Grimm. It’s the first story in the ‘Tales of Beauty and Madness‘ series. [you can buy a copy here!]

The novel follows the story of Camille, who was discovered at age six alone and near death in the snow by Enrico Vultusino, Godfather of the Seven – the powerful Families that rule magic-ridden New Haven. Now turning sixteen, Camille is no longer mute, but hides her scars and only opens up to her best friends, Ruby and Ellie, and to Nico, the Vultusino heir. She soons begins to uncover secrets of her birth, where she comes from, and why her past is coming back to threaten her even now.

e3257ebc4e2c64f1cc8bd698d5cffb87

I really liked this dark, paranormal take on the fairytale of Snow White. Admittedly, that actual fairytale is pretty dark, but most people are more familiar with the Disney movie. This book took the original fairytale concept, modernised it, and made it even creepier and more fantastical.

There were times when I couldn’t predict what was going to happen, or which way the story would proceed. And believe me, I’m usually pretty good at predicting what will happen, so if a story can do that then they get extra props from me. Four for you, St. Crow! You go!

Cami as a lead character was great. She was well rounded and easy to like; she had flaws and was incredibly human. Her thought processes were easy to follow, and even when I didn’t quite agree with the way they went, I could easily understand why they did so. There was a lot of backstory which we only saw glimpses of, and that really helped to shape her character. I loved how she stuttered, and how we got to see her frustrations that she couldn’t express herself the way she really wanted to.

The rest of the cast were also likeable in their own ways, though there were times when Nico confused and irritated me. His relationship with Cami often seem forced or even creepy; but then it would be natural and sweet. Thankfully, I’m quite sure this was done intentionally, as Nico struggles throughout the book with becoming Vultusino and with his rapidly changing life. It certainly added extra depth to the story, which is always great!

~*~

Favourite Character:

Camille, for aforementioned reasons.

Favourite Moment:

My favourite moment was probably when Cami went over Ruby’s house and we got to meet Gran for the first time. Gran seems like a great character, I can’t wait to meet her more in Ruby’s own book, Kin.

Favourite Quote:

I am reviewing this book without marking anything in it with post-its, and there are no quotes on GoodReads, so I just flicked through until I found a passage that I thought was good.

“Sometimes (Cami) wished she’d met Ellie before Ruby. When Ruby arrived in third grade at the Hallows School, one of her first acts at recess was decking one of the girls teasing Cami about her stutter. Cami had simply put her head down and shrank into herself, but Ruby, afire with indignation, took on all comers.”

Rating:

★★★★☆

~*~

Please let me know what you think of my review! Also, if you’ve read the book, what did you think of it?

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

