Unexpected Update.

Wow, that title sounds kind of ominous; but it’s appropriate, so I’ll keep it.

Last night I was supposed to post for ‘Film Friday‘. It didn’t happen, but for a good reason (not just because I forgot, though I did forget). I didn’t write up a post gushing about one of my favourite movies because I was busy reading Bellarke fanfiction and planning for NaNoWriMo!

National Novel Writing Month starts tomorrow and I’m rather terrified. Why did I suddenly decide to participate when it didn’t really work out the last time? I have no idea. Well, I have a bit of an idea, but it mostly revolves around hoping that I can make more headway on the book I’m working on.

The last time I attempted writing every day of November I was at University, and Spring session was just wrapping up. You might be thinking, “but that’s great Gabi, wouldn’t you have heaps of free time?” No. I didn’t have any free time. I got through the first week with great difficulty before I gave up. I had essays and major assignments and at least one exam, all in the first half of November. Once you fall behind your word limit per day, you’re kinda screwed. So I stopped and waited; happy I managed to write the 8,000 words I did, but sure I would have another crack at it one day.

Well, that day is almost here.

Like I said, I’m terrified, but I’m also excited at the prospect of getting the ideas that are swirling around in my head down on paper. It definitely helps that I wrote up a comprehensive plot about two weeks ago (before I’d even decided to try and write 50,000 words in 30 days). It’s going to be a lot easier now that I know what’s happening and in what order. There is method to my madness, and that’s reassuring!

I’m hoping that I’ll blog about the experience as I go, but I suppose that depends on if I get time in between working and actually writing my novel. I won’t worry too much if I forget to update you guys, because you’ll, at the very least, get a post when I’m done (telling you if I succeeded or failed spectacularly). Something to look forward to!

Wish me luck (I think I’m gonna need it)!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

