October Book Roundup.

2015

It has been the hottest October in something like seventeen years! It’s been crazy! You’d think it was Summer, not Spring. Thankfully, I still managed to get quite a few books read despite the blistering weather (and the occasional freezing day).

~*~

banner11

Read:

The Sorcerer in the North – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

A favourite character now all grown up.

IMG_1867

The fifth book in the ‘Rangers Apprentice‘ series, this book is really part one of two (the second of which I read next), and follows one adventure. It’s set five years after the end of the fourth book, so Will is now a fully qualified Ranger. The book starts with his travelling to his first assigned fief, and then being given his first solo mission; to investigate reports of sorcery in a remote northern fief.

This is actually one of my favourite RA books, because I love seeing Will as a qualified ranger, not having to rely on Halt all the time. Sure he has moments where he literally thinks “What Would Halt Do”, but it’s cool seeing that he’s really grown as a ranger and as a person. I love the plot itself also, including all the mystery and deception. But my favourite thing is Alyss and Will. And that part gets even better in the next book!

“Face your fears, Halt had always thought him, and more often than not they fade like mist in the sunshine.”

.

The Siege of Macindaw – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

A book with mind control.

IMG_2014

Part two of the adventure is extremely fast paced and full of action. As the title makes obvious, it encompasses Will’s siege of Castle Macindaw with the help of a number of Skandian warriors and his best friend Horace. I don’t want to spoil it at all, so I won’t go into details. But there’s a super awesome interaction between Will and Alyss that gives me hope for romance.

“Sometimes, life threw up problems that even the wisest, most trusted mentor couldn’t solve for you. It was part of the pain of growing up. And having to stand by and watch was part of being a mentor.”

.

Coraline – Neil Gaiman. Easy. ★★★☆☆

A spooktacular read.

IMG_2009

October’s ‘The Book Corner‘ novel is a Spooktacular read! See what I did there?

I found this book really well written, and I quite liked it. It’s not the sort of thing I go out of my way to read, and so perfect for our book club. It was really creepy, and I’m glad I didn’t read it right before I went to bed. I don’t do well with creepy things.

Also I can’t wait to film the video for our review, because Anthony and I are doing something special! We’re dressing up for Halloween!

“’Because,’ she said, ‘when you’re scared but you still do it anyway, that’s brave.’”

.

Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige. Medium. ★★★☆☆

A re-imagined classic.

IMG_1355

I finally got around to picking this one back up! It was a really interesting concept, and actually executed quite well. It was confusing time to time, but I feel like that was done on purpose, because the main character, Amy, is confused most of the time.

I didn’t think it was amazing, but I will definitely read the next book one day. I really want to know what happens, and where Paige is taking Amy’s character. Also I’m not sure if I can ever look at the character of Dorothy the same way ever again!

“I hate to break it to you, but just because someone has pretty hair and a good skin tone and a crown instead of a pointy hat doesn’t mean she’s not the baddest bitch this side of the Emerald City.”

.

The Lost Hero – Rick Riordan. Easy. ★★★★★

A new series with familiar characters.

IMG_2017

Starting off the Heroes of Olympus series with a bang, this book took me back to the Percy Jackson world with a host of new characters. I really liked all the new characters (thank goodness), and love how the new prophecy and everything is shaping up.

Of course, the mystery of the whole ‘Roman camp’ thing was a bit ruined for me because I’d seen things about it before. Despite that, I still loved the twist though, and it was done really well.

“Jason scratched his head. ‘You named him Festus? You know that in Latin, ‘festus’ means ‘happy’? You want us to ride off to save the world on Happy the Dragon?’”

.

Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas. Easy. ★★★☆☆ (1/2)

A book everyone in the world seems to love.

IMG_2016

I swear that everyone has read this series but me (and my best friend, Anthony). I thought it looked like the sort of thing I’d like so I bought it. It helps that it was on sale in Kmart. I did enjoy it, but not as much as I had hoped I would. My rating is actually more like 3 and a half stars, but GoodReads and my star system doesn’t really work with halves.

I’m now hoping that the series gets even better, because I bought the other books too!

“’You could rattle the stars,’ she whispered. ‘You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.’”

.

Seven Ancient Wonders – Matthew Reilly. Easy. ★★★★★

A book which should be made into a TV show.

IMG_2018

I read this book for the first time last year, and have been wanting to reread it before I start the second book in the Jack West Jr series. I’ve also been wanting to start another audio book, so I listened to the audio book of this (two birds and all that)!

I loved it more the second time around. It has Reilly’s characteristic fast-paced action-movie style plot, a cast of awesome diverse characters, and an intricate world travelling plot. If you can’t suspend your disbelief for even a second, don’t bother picking it up! Seriously. Don’t even try. It’s an incredible crazy adventure from start to finish, but there are some very close calls, and implausible situations. You have been warned.

“All the legends have one thing in common. In all of them the Capstone is said to possess unusual properties. It is said to be a source of immense power.”

.

The Six Sacred Stones – Matthew Reilly. Easy. ★★★★★

A book you read in one sitting.

IMG_2012

A welcome return to Jack West and his team, this book starts off running full pelt, and barely stops to take a breath. Much like the first book you have to suspend your disbelief and just go with the flow. There are so many twists and turns, and a huge character reveal that I just wasn’t expecting!

I’m so happy I finally got around to reading this. I’ve been meaning to for quite a while, and it did not disappoint. Also, more Jack being a dad to Lily, and more Jack being awesome and totally head over heels for Zoe. Trust me, I ship it pretty hard.

“The power of Tartarus has been nullified. Someone has the other capstone. The game is back on.”

.

The Five Greatest Warriors – Matthew Reilly. Easy. ★★★★★

A book you couldn’t wait to read.

IMG_2011

As soon as I finished ‘The Six Sacred Stones’ I instantly read the first couple pages of this, because that was one epic cliff-hanger! And it just got better from there. Seriously, this one left me speechless, and wound the story up wonderfully. All the lines of plot were resolved nicely (but not magically), and Oh. My. Gosh. Zoe and Jack!!!

“A friend’s loyalty lasts longer than their memory. Over the course of a long friendship, you might fight with your friend, even get angry with them. But a true friend will forget that anger after a while, because their loyalty to their friend outweighs the memory of the disagreement.”

.

The Son of Neptune – Rick Riordan. Easy. ★★★★★

A recent purchase.

IMG_2015

As great second instalment in the Heroes of Olympus series, I started reading it pretty much as soon as it came in the mail. I couldn’t put it down. I was so glad that Percy was back, and the characterisation of the Romans and the portrayal of their camp was done brilliantly.

Again, I don’t want to spoil anything so I won’t go into detail. Basically, it continued the series wonderfully, and I can’t wait to continue on.

“Part of their problem was Percy. He fought like a demon, whirling through the defender’s ranks in a completely unorthodox style, rolling under their feet, slashing with his sword instead of stabbing like a Roman would, whacking campers with the flat of his blade, and generally causing mass panic.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

IMG_2008

The Mark of Athena – Rick Riordan.

I’ve only read a little of this so far, but I’m enjoying it. I can’t wait to finish it and move through the rest of the series. Riordan is just amazing, and I love his stories.

~*~

Only two months left of the year. I wonder what the final tally for my reading challenge will be… It’s currently at 72. And while I hope I can find time to read during November, I’m attempting NaNoWriMo and Fallout 4 is coming out, so I won’t have a lot of spare time. Regardless, I’ve been doing so well and I’m actually really proud I’ve managed to read so many books so far this year.

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

