The Blind Side (2009).

It was only last week that I re-watched this movie for the hundredth time. Like most inspirational sports movies, it’s based on a true story. It’s a great film, and perfect for today’s ‘Film Friday‘ post.

Beware, there be spoilers ahead!

Blind_side_posterThe Blind Side (2009). The film follows the story of Michael Oher, a homeless and traumatised young man, who is taken in by the Tuohy family, and goes on to become an All American football player and NFL first round draft pick.

It stars Quinton Aaron as Michael Oher, Sandra Bullock as Leigh Anne Tuohy, Tim McGraw as Seasn Tuohy, Lily Collins as Collins Tuohy, Jae Head as S.J. Tuohy, and Kathy Bates as Miss Sue.

Michael Oher is taken in by the Tuohy family after they see him wandering around in the cold at night. Leigh Anne Tuohy instantly starts mothering him, and tells him he can stay with them if he wants. He quickly becomes a part of the family, but other people in the community are confused by his presence. He joins the football team, and shows incredible promise. Amidst many offers for football scholarships, Michael is taken in for questioning about his circumstances. The Tuohy’s are suspected of being boosters; people who take in young athletes and groom them to attend a specific college.

tumblr_np8675Yd8C1rf1c8eo3_250

I do love movies that are based on true stories, and this movie is no exception. It’s really quite a touching story, and the family seem just like many other families [picture of real life family below]. While the Tuohy’s are rather affluent, and are shown to live quite comfortably, they are also portrayed as ‘Good Christian’ people who are willing to help others. Whether or not the story is exactly true to life isn’t really of consequence to me, as it’s really just a nice inspiring story.

29BF514700000578-3130028-image-a-16_1434645814600

In my family we quote movies every day, and this is one my Dad loves. It’s funny, with so many lines that are easy to work into conversation. I think it marks a great movie when you can do that. And when it captures reality in its ups and downs. Also, the chemistry between Michael and each of the Tuohy’s is great. They’re realistic relationships, and is basically what the movie is about.

tumblr_mi0kloDgTP1qf9fr7o5_r1_250

~*~

Michael Oher: It’s nice, I never had one before.

Leigh Anne Touhy: What, a room to yourself?

Michael Oher: A bed.

tumblr_np8675Yd8C1rf1c8eo6_250

Beth: You’re changing that boy’s life.

Leigh Anne Touhy: No. He’s changing mine.

tumblr_mi0kloDgTP1qf9fr7o7_r1_250

Michael Oher: [after pushing an opponent all the way off the field] Sorry, Coach. I stopped when I heard the whistle.

Coach Cotton: Where were you taking him?

Michael Oher: The bus. It was time for him to go home.

giphy (1)

Sean Tuohy: Who would’ve thought we’d have a black son before we met a Democrat?

tumblr_mi0kloDgTP1qf9fr7o3_r2_250

Sean Tuohy: We were wondering if you would like to become a part of this family.

Michael Oher: I kinda thought I already was.

tumblr_np8675Yd8C1rf1c8eo4_250tumblr_mi0kloDgTP1qf9fr7o4_r1_250

Alton: You hear me, bitch?

Leigh Anne Touhy: No, you hear me, bitch! You threaten my son, you threaten me. You so much as cross into downtown, you will be sorry. I’m in a prayer group with the D.A., I’m a member of the N.R.A. and I’m always packing.

Alton: Whatchu packin? .22? A little Saturday night special?

Leigh Anne Touhy: Yep. And it shoots just fine every other day of the week too.

tumblr_mv1kev8lc31rk5jbto7_r1_250tumblr_mv1kev8lc31rk5jbto6_r1_250

~*~

So I’ve been busying trying to find more work, because working full time is what I need to be doing with my life. But I’m still trying to keep up with this blog, but have changed ‘Film Friday’ to every second week. That means the next one is in two weeks, not one. I’m not sure what movie it will be, so it’ll be a super surprise!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

