September Book Roundup.

2015

Here’s to the close of a fantastic month, full of book shopping and Oz Comic Con!!! A month where I finally read some classics I’ve been wanting to read for years, and when I finally finished reading a non-fiction book I’ve been reading for three years. A good time was had by all.

~*~

banner10

Read:

The Demigod Files – Rick Riordan. Easy. ★★★★☆

A companion book. (which is slightly different to a novella)

IMG_1354

This book is a companion of the ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians‘ series. It has a couple little stories to go along with the series, as well as interviews with some of the characters, character profiles, and other cool additional things which people who love the series will enjoy. Other than that it’s pretty short and basic, not the sort of thing you’d read for a good time, and probably not something I’d reread.

“Christmas in the Underworld was NOT my idea.  If I’d known what was coming, I would’ve called in sick. I could’ve avoided an army of demons, a fight with a Titan, and a trick that almost got my friends and me cast into eternal darkness.  But no, I had to take my stupid English exam.”

.

Heists – Joseph Cummings. Easy. ★★★☆☆

A long time coming.

IMG_0473

I have had this book on the go for the better part of three years. I hadn’t actually picked it up this year until this month, which is why I hadn’t mentioned it previously. All in all, it was a pretty interesting book. Very informative, and a great style of writing.

“Why did I rob banks? Because I enjoyed it. I loved it. I was more alive when I was inside a bank, robbing it, than at any other time in my life.”

.

The 100: Day 21 – Kass Morgan. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

A real disappointment. (yeah, I went there)

20454076

I said in the ‘Currently Reading’ section of last month’s post that I wasn’t enjoying this book. And I really didn’t. Two stars is pretty low for me, I know it’s not for everyone. I struggled through this book and the only reason I made it through is because I loathe to just stop reading a book. I’ll stop reading a series if I’m not enjoying it, but a book has to be seriously woeful for me to give up on it.

I really didn’t care about any of the characters, except Bellamy. Even Clarke got annoying. I absolutely hated Glass, and wished Wells would just bugger off. Anyways, I’m not sure if I’ll read the last book, but I kind of want to know where Morgan is taking the story. We’ll see.

“Was that Clarke really in there somewhere? The Clarke who could look so gravely serious one moment and then burst into laughter the next? The girl who found everything on Earth miraculous, and kissed him as if he were the most incredible find of all?”

.

Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen. Hard. ★★★★☆

A classic romance.

IMG_1847

This Jane Austen classic was September’s book for “The Book Corner”. Anthony and I had both been wanting to read it for a while, and we thought it was good to mix things up, instead of reading the same kind of books each month.

I absolutely loved this, despite it being hard to read (though nowhere near as hard as I thought it would be). I think a large part of the enjoyment came from knowing the story beforehand. I knew what was going on, and therefore knew how to interpret the language.

“I wish, as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy; but, like everybody else, it must be in my own way.”

.

The Icebound Land – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

A book which deals with addiction.

IMG_1845

I am slowly making my way through this series again. I’ve read all the books before; some a number of times. It’s just such a great series, with wonderful characters and creative plot lines.

This book is probably the hardest for me to read, simply because it’s very bleak. It’s sort of a stepping stone between the war against Morgarath (in the previous book) and having Will safe at home again (in the next book). But at the same time I’m so glad that Flanagan doesn’t gloss over any of the struggles that Will and Evanlyn face as slaves, or the struggles Halt and Horace face in trying to rescue them.

All of the details of Will’s addiction to Warmweed, and Evanlyn’s despair as their capture, really humanise them and make the story realistic. Nothing magical happens to get them out of the situation. Halt and Horace don’t defy physics and materialise when they’re needed in Skandia.

Anyway, I could probably harp on about how amazing the series is all day. So I’ll stop.

“He appeared nondescript enough, that was for sure. His clothes were simple-verging on drab, in fact. His beard and hair were badly cut. They looked as if he had cut them with a hunting knife, thought Deparnieux,unaware that he was only one of many people to have had that very same thoughts about Halt.”

.

Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves – Matthew Reilly. Easy. ★★★★★

A book you read in one sitting.

IMG_1843

To be honest, nearly every Matthew Reilly book I’ve read has been so gripping I couldn’t put it down, and therefore finished it in one evening/morning/sitting. This latest instalment of the Scarecrow series was no exception.

It was the usual fast-paced insane ride where Scarecrow and co. do some crazy shit, which would make an incredible action movie (if done right). I also loved that David Fairfax was back; I didn’t realise how much I liked him until he turned up again.

“His actions had saved three US cities from annihilation but only a few very high-ranking people knew it. Fairfax was just pleased he could still wear jeans and sneakers to work.”

.

Anne of Green Gables – L. M. Montgomery. Medium. ★★★★☆

A book set somewhere you would love to live.

IMG_1846

I remember watching the film of ‘Anne of Green Gables‘ with my Nan years ago. It was on TV one night when I was staying over. It went on forever, but I loved it. I’ve been wanting to read it ever since then, and I finally got around to it.

I spent most of the book waiting for Gilbert Blithe to appear, and I wasn’t let down. In fact, I loved the entire book, and was rather happy that I wasn’t let down. I loved Anne, and how she just talks and talks, and her massive imagination. It was simply a beautiful story, and I can’t wait to read the sequels.

“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.”

.

The Boy Most Likely To – Huntey Fitzpatrick. Easy. ★★★★★

A highly anticipated read.

IMG_1844

Ugh, this book, man. Fitzpatrick really knows how to weave an amazing, yet fairly simple story. I loved every sentence of it. It follows straight after “My Life Next Door“, but focuses on Tim Mason and Alice Garrett.

I actually filmed a quick review of it, which will be up on my channel soon. So I don’t want to go into why I loved it so much, also it only came out this month. But, basically, I’ve been waiting  since I read the other book for this story. And it lived up to every expectation I had!

“You can choose where your feet take you, man. That’s Dominic again, who’s like my own little Jiminy Cricket, Portuguese fisherman style.”

.

The Tournament at Gorlan – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

A prequel you’ve been waiting for.

IMG_1807

The story takes place straight after the short story, “The Hibernian”, from “The Lost Stories” (book 11 of the RA series). It follows Crowley and Halt as they look for Prince Duncan, work to reform the Rangers Corp, and thwart Lord Morgarath’s nefarious plans for Araluen.

Just like Flanagan’s other books this prequel is action packed, quite fasted paced, but doesn’t skimp on the details. It doesn’t really go into the details of the world, which I like, because I’ve already read all of the RA series. But it may confuse people who haven’t read any of the other books before. However, I think it would’ve been annoying if Flanagan had rehashed ALL the details of the Rangers Corp, and the way the country was run. Sure, he occasionally mentions little detail to just emphasise a point, or to show that Halt has just learned it too.

Regardless, I highly recommend it, whether you’ve read the other books or not!

“I like the idea of ‘Renegade Rangers’. It appeals to my natural sense of rebellion against authority.”

.

Oakleaf Bearers – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

The fourth book in a series.

IMG_1808

This is one of my favourite books in the Rangers Apprentice series. It’s mostly about a huge battle between the Skandians and the Temujai. It’s all written really well, so it’s super easy to follow and imagine. I do love a good medieval war.

It’s funny, and sweet, and fast paced. Really it’s just a great addition to the series!

“You’re a very amusing fellow,” Erak told Halt. “I’d like to brain you with my axe one of these days.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

IMG_1355IMG_1867

Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige.

I haven’t actually read any more of this even though I had planned on. Oh well, no rush. There’s always next month!

The Sorcerer in the North – John Flanagan.

The fifth book in the RA series. I’m making my way through! I do love this one. Will’s a bit older now, is a fully fledged  Ranger, and assigned to his own fief.

~*~

It’s been a whirlwind month, and I honesty can’t believe I got that many books read!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

