Remember the Titans (2000).

That’s right bitches, Film Fridays are back! I haven’t posted anything for my ‘Endless List of Movies I Love‘ in months and months. And I feel horrible about it. So I’m coming back strong with one of my favourite inspirational sports movies!

Remember, there be spoilers ahead!

tumblr_mrv0w6Ad8M1r4cjoao1_400Remember the Titans (2000). The film is loosely based on the true story of a newly appointed African-American coach and his high school football team during their first season as a racially integrated unit. It’s set in T.C. Williams High School, Alexandria, a suburb of Washington D.C., in 1971.

It stars Denzel Washington as Coach Herman Boone, Will Patton as Coach Bill Yoast, Ryan Hurst as Gerry Bertier, Wood Harris as Julius Campbell, Donald Faison as Petey Johnson, Kip Pardue as Ronnie ‘Sunshine’ Bass, Ryan Gosling as Alan Bosley, Kate Bosworth as Emma Hoyt, and Hayden Panettiere as Sheryl Yoast.

The story follows the Titans, T.C. Williams’ high school’s football team, as the school is desegregated. Coach Boone is given the role of Head Coach as a show of faith to the black community. As a show of respect he then gives the role of Assistant Coach to the previous Head Coach, Bill Yoast. Boone is under pressure from the school board to win, because if the team loses even one game, he will be ousted from his position.

tumblr_mqjpivpp2j1rmght3o1_500

I do know that the story isn’t precisely based on what actually happened, and that  it’s been panned by many critics, but it’s still a wonderful movie. It’s inspiring in many ways. The football team is so important to the town of Alexandria, and watching as their success helps bring the townspeople together is really nice. But it’s also simply inspiring in the way that they manage to go undefeated despite all the obstacles they faced.

tumblr_n96e30lQ8I1rvhj8jo5_250tumblr_n96e30lQ8I1rvhj8jo6_250

I also love the way all of the relationships develop. Like Gerry and Julius going from enemies to best friends and brothers. Like Petey and Sunshine going from mocking  each other to supporting each other. Like Sheryl and Carol going from hating each other to understanding and accepting each other.

tumblr_mqzfutXpgW1scmcc9o1_1280 tumblr_mqzfutXpgW1scmcc9o2_1280

One of my favourite parts of the movie is when the Titan’s warm up before one of their games, showing solidarity and some great dance moves!

tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo1_250 tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo2_250tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo3_400 tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo4_250tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo5_400 tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo6_400tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo7_250 tumblr_mqfgr4JyFY1spyq8zo8_400

Oh and don’t get me started on a young Ryan Gosling and his dancing!!!

tumblr_mk6mfs8foq1rr6a99o2_250 tumblr_mk6mfs8foq1rr6a99o4_250 tumblr_m9ec8fxB1h1rr6a99o2_250 tumblr_m9ec8fxB1h1rr6a99o5_250

~*~

Coach Boone: We will be perfect in every aspect of the game. You drop a pass, you run a mile. You miss a blocking assignment, you run a mile. You fumble the football, and I will break my foot off in your John Brown hind parts and then you will run a mile. Perfection. Let’s go to work.

tumblr_inline_mvi5xx1EpL1rlpk9c

Blue Stanton: Coach we need a water break, we been out here all day!

Coach Boone: What did you say?

Blue Stanton: Said, we need a water break.

Coach Boone: A water break? Water is for cowards. Water makes you weak. Water is for washing blood off that uniform and you don’t get no blood on my uniform, boy you must be outside your mind! We are going to do up-downs, until Blue is no longer tired, and thirsty.

tumblr_mmdhh35lVX1sp9fcho6_250

Petey Jones: Hey, hey, Lastik man what happened to you?

Louie Lastik: [holding back, in fake pain] Man I just gave your momma a piggy-back ride and she weighs twice as much as I do!

tumblr_mmdhh35lVX1sp9fcho7_250

[Julius visits Gerry in the hospital]

Nurse: Only kin’s allowed in here.

Gerry Bertier: Alice, are you blind? Don’t you see the family resemblance? That’s my brother.

tumblr_mmdhh35lVX1sp9fcho3_250

Coach Boone: [to his players] Tonight we’ve got Hayfield. Like all the other schools in this conference, they’re all white. They don’t have to worry about race. We do. Let me tell you something: you don’t let anyone come between us. Nothing tears us apart. In Greek mythology, the Titans were greater even than the gods. They ruled their universe with absolute power. Well that football field out there, that’s our universe. Let’s rule it like titans.

tumblr_mssg9dgy3u1r5siljo4_250

~*~

So I’m getting back into blogging more than just my Monthly Book Roundups. I’ve been busy writing my novel and reading lots, so I haven’t got around to writing up more intense/specific blog posts like I’ve been wanting to. Oh well, movies are awesome and I love fangirling about them, so I’ll be back next Friday!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

