August Book Roundup.

Banner

Ah, August! Two thirds of the year is done, and I’m already offering my parents Christmas present ideas (hardbacks of the HP series to go with the copy I got for my 21st. Hells to the Yeah). Winter is over, so there’ll be a teeny-tiny-bit less time spent curled up in bed reading. But that’s cool, I can read anywhere!

~*~

Banner9

Read:

Croak – Gina Damico. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

A great concept with bad delivery.

IMG_1137

The concept behind this story is that there are humans around the world who reap and ferry souls to the AfterLife. Grims live in communities, such as Croak, and work in pairs to make sure all functions properly. I love the concept and how Damico imagines Grim Reapers. But the plot was incredibly predictable (seriously I guessed who the killer was less than half way through), and sadly clichéd at times.

I also didn’t care about any of the characters. I mean, I did like most of them, but I didn’t care if they figured out who was killing Grims, and I didn’t care if they survived it all or not. Personally, I will not enjoy a book if I cannot care about any of the characters (particularly the protagonist), and I certainly won’t be reading either of the other books. Sorry Damico.

“Life isn’t fair. Why should death be any different?”

.

The School for Good and Evil – Soman Chainani. Easy. ★★☆☆☆

A twisted fairytale.

IMG_1196

Similarly with ‘Croak’, I really liked the concept that this book presented, but I thought it was executed rather clumsily. I really wanted to like it, because it subverted so many fairytale clichés. But it all felt so forced. One of the things I really did like was how Agatha realised she was beautiful inside, even when she and other’s thought she appeared ugly. And how a smile can really change one’s appearance.

I think it would be good for kid’s, and for introducing them to different types of fairytales. But I think I would look elsewhere first. So in the end, like with ‘Croak’, I won’t be reading the other books. Sorry Chainani.

“She had always found villains more exciting than heroes. They had ambition, passion. They made the stories happen. Villains didn’t fear death. No, they wrapped themselves in death like suits of armour!”

.

Heidi – Johanna Spyri. Easy. ★★★★☆

A book you wouldn’t read as a kid.

IMG_1195

When I was little, maybe five or six, my mum started reading this book to me. We didn’t get very far, from what I can recall, because it upset me so much. It starts with a little girl getting dumped on her old and grumpy grandfather. He ends up being lovely and everything, but it’s just that initial portrayal and the fact that her Aunt is so horrible that upset me so much.

Reading it properly for the first time was absolutely wonderful. The language and imagery are simply beautiful. It gives me the urge to travel to Switzerland and Germany. The illustrations are simply gorgeous. And, seriously, look at that cover!

“Saying good night to the mountains, the sun throws his most beautiful rays to them, that they may not forget him till the morning.”

.

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart. Medium. ★★★☆☆

A shocking twist ending.

IMG_1353

Augusts’ Book Corner read was an interesting tale, that’s for sure. There aren’t many things I can say that won’t both ruin the book and our review, so I won’t say much. I just want to say that the writing was incredibly unique, and extremely beautiful. I especially loved the way Lockhart described Cadence’s migraines.

“We are liars. We are beautiful and privileged. We are cracked and broken.”

.

Band of Brothers: E Company, 506th Regiment, 101st Airborne from Normandy to Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest – Stephen E. Ambrose. Medium. ★★★★☆

A biography/historical memoir.

IMG_1148

I read this book for the first time last year. I’ve been in love with HBO’s Band of Brothers for years, so I figured I’d get even more obsessed and read the source material. I started listening to the 16 hour long audio book while I was weaving squares to make a blanket. It was quite enjoyable to listen to, but I would still rather watch the show! (which I recently bought on Blu-ray).

“In thinking back on the days of Easy Company, I’m treasuring my remark to a grandson who asked, ‘Grandpa, were you a hero in the war?’
‘No,’ I answered, ‘but I served in a company of heroes.’”

.

Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth – Rick Riordan. Easy. ★★★★☆

A book with secret identities (there’s at least one!).

IMG_1307

IMG_1306THIS WAS MY FIFTIETH BOOK!!! (that means I’ve officially finished my GoodReads challenge for 2015) See ————>

Anyways. I really enjoyed this instalment of the Percy Jackson series, but not as much as the others. It’s probably my least favourite of the five (I read the last one straight after, it’s next!). But it was still awesome!

I loved the whole idea of the Labyrinth, and how Riordan showed how Camp Halfblood and the entire mythological community was dealing with Kronus’ uprising and the threat of the Titans. It made everything seem precisely as dire as it needed to be, to be realistic. It set everything up wonderfully for the last book!

“You deal with mythological stuff for a few years, you learn that paradises are usually places where you get killed.”

.

Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian – Rick Riordan. Easy. ★★★★★

A book cover in your favourite colour.

IMG_1308

The final book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is by far my favourite! It brought everything that was introduced in the previous four books to a satisfying conclusion, with all its regular humour and sass.

To me everything happened perfectly, and all the plot points fell into place, and everything was resolved nicely. Nothing felt forced. But I kinda wish there was more stuff about what happened after. Oh, I totally ship Percy and Annabeth. Percabeth all the way.

“Well . . . sure good to be together again. Arguing. Almost dying. Abject terror. Oh, look. It’s our floor.”

.

The 100 – Kass Morgan. Easy. ★★★☆☆

A book that was made into a TV show.

The_100_book_cover

I binge watched season 1 and 2 of The 100 TV show at the beginning of August, and decided to give the books a try. I bought it as an ebook, and read it in one night. To be honest, I enjoyed the show so much more. They’re extremely different; with the show taking a very different route, but being more realistic and logical (in my opinion).

I got pretty sick of Wells and Glass as the story went along. I wanted more Clarke, and Bellamy, and Octavia. And really, I wanted more of the 100, like we got on the show. Maybe the book was ruined for me because I watched the show first and got really high expectations.

I do really love the concept though, and Bellamy and Clarke. After I finished watching the show I may, or may not, have read a few books worth of Bellarke FanFiction… Brand new OTP right there!

“But Bellamy had been doing stupid things his whole life, and he had no intention of stopping now.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

IMG_0473IMG_1355IMG_1354 20454076

Heists – Joseph Cummins.

I’ve actually been reading this book since 2012… I finally got back to it this month, and I will finish it in September. I WILL!

Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige.

I haven’t read much of this, but I will finish is during September too. It’s an interesting idea, and I’m enjoying it so far. I’m just not loving it, so I hope it gets better!

Percy Jackson: The Demigod Files – Rick Riordan.

This is just a great little addition to the Percy Jackson novels, and I’ve loving the little short stories!

The 100: Day 21 – Kass Morgan.

Because the first book finished so suddenly I really wanted to know what happened. But this book is going so much slower than the first one, and it just hasn’t captured my attention like the show did. I’m sick of hearing Wells’ point of view, and I have decided that I HATE Glass. I don’t care what happens to her and Luke. Seriously, I don’t.

~*~

I have officially finished my GoodReads reading challenge for 2015!!! Woohoo! Obviously I will keep reading more books, but I’m going to leave my challenge at 50, rather than making it higher. Otherwise when I look back at it (if I ever do), I won’t remember what I originally set it at.

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

