May Book Roundup.

Banner

This month was pretty good for reading. I feel like I’m getting into my stride this year. The list includes both an audio book and graphic novels, so I’m certainly expanding my horizons.

Anyway, let’s get to it! Please enjoy, and remember…

There be spoilers ahead!

~*~

Banner6

Read:

Hawksong – Amelia Atwater Rhodes. Easy. ★★★★★

Another reread.

IMG_0767

I’ve  been wanting to reread this one for a little while because I bought this new copy. Previously I had it with the other four books in the series in a huge tome. It was really cumbersome, and seeing as I only really liked the first book, I figured I’d just get it by itself.

It’s a good romance, but it’s not just about romance. That’s probably why I love it so much. It’s about two shapeshifting races who have been at war for generations. In an attempt to stop further bloodshed, Danica Shardae of the Avians and Zane Cobriana of the Serpents marry. The intertwining of the two leading families and societies is not easy, nor is their relationship perfect. But I love how their relationship develops, and I love how the two societies and peoples are portrayed.

“I could not cry for my own brother; he would not want me to. But I found myself crying for this hated stranger and the endless slaughter that I had almost contributed to.”

.

Ice Station – Matthew Reilly. Medium. ★★★★★

A book you think should be made into a movie.

IMG_0770

I can’t believe it took me this long to get around to reading this book!!! It was incredible, and seriously it played out like an action movie in my head. It’s all pretty intense, but it still manages to be a mystery with twists and turns that I didn’t see coming (and I’m usually pretty spot on with predictions).

The cast of characters were great. Scarecrow at first seems like he’s going to be a cliché wrapped in an enigma, but he’s actually a very complex and interesting character. The way he interacts with the people around him, particularly his team, made me fall in love with him almost straight away.

I would also like to point out that I officially hate Killer Whales. I never particularly liked them. Now I hate them. If you’ve read it, you know exactly why.

“If you do not lay down your defenses before our arrival, we will be forced to make an offensive entry. Such an entry, ladies and gentlemen, will be painful.”

.

Stormfront – Jim Butcher. Easy. ★★★☆☆

A book a friend recommended.

IMG_0773

I read this for the Book Corner this month. I won’t say too much about about it because the video isn’t up yet. But just a couple things. I didn’t love it, but it was okay. Dresden was an interesting character, though kind of annoying at times. I did like how he was so paranoid, because it was realistic.

I didn’t mind that it was so graphic with it’s gore, but there were times when I thought it could leave a little to the imagination. There were also some slightly clichéd characters, but my friend who recommended it said they were better explored in later books. To be honest, I don’t think I’ll read any more of the Dresden Files books.

“Paranoid? Probably. But just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean there isn’t an invisible demon about to eat your face.”

.

Stealing Parker – Miranda Kenneally. Easy. ★★★★★

Another audio book.

IMG_0772

I’ve read ‘Stealing Parker’ a couple times, and thought I’d give the audio book a go. I really liked the narrator; she had a nice voice and the accent really helped pull me into the world. It was really easy to listen to, which is why it’s in the ‘easy’ category, but I would put the novel itself in ‘medium’ because of the more mature issues it deals with.

The character development of Parker, and also the development of her relationship with Will, is so realistic and wonderful. Will ‘Corndog’ Whitfield is also the most adorable guy ever, and I want one.

“Sometimes you gotta do what’s right for you and forget about everybody else. All that matters is what you want. What you need.”

.

Area 7 – Matthew Reilly. Medium. ★★★★★

A new favourite lead character.

IMG_0768

I was so excited to read the next ‘Scarecrow‘ novel, and boy was I not disappointed. Another fast-paced adventure which doesn’t take a moment to catch it’s breath. Sure it’s not completely believable; there are moments where you have to suspend your disbelief. But aren’t most action movies like that?

Anyway, its a great continuation of Scarecrow’s adventures. And Gant! Oh my god, Elizabeth Gant. She’s awesome. They’re awesome. And I totally ship it.

“The figure just stood there before him – perhaps a yard way, his face shrouded in shadow – absolutely motionless. He towered over Schofield, gazing at him silently. Schofield hadn’t even heard him approach.”

.

Saga: Vol.1-4 – Brian K. Vaughn. Easy. ★★★★★

A graphic novel.

IMG_0765

I got the first volume on Free Comic Book day, and the guy who served me told me it was the best graphic novel he’d ever read. And he was right! They’re incredible and I honestly don’t know what else to say. They’re original and realistic; sweet and gory. Full of amazing characters and incredible visuals.

I highly recommend them for everyone, though certainly give a mature warning.

“Trust me, this whole freak out is probably just hormonal. You only gave birth, what, a week ago? Your body’s still, like, a wasteland of chemical imbalance.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

IMG_0764IMG_0775

21 Proms – Multiple Authors

So I’m still reading this. Slowly getting to the end.

The Cry of the Icemark – Stuart Hill.

Rereading this favourite because it was one of the two books we review for our Book Club in May. I’ve read it a number of times, and will probably reread it many more in the future. I’m also tabbing quotes to add on GoodReads.

~*~

I’m actually about 8 books ahead in my GoodReads challenge (quite unheard of for me!), and think I will read more books than I thought I would this year! Yay!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

