Birthday Book Haul – Non Fiction.

Non fiction (n.): the branch of literature comprising works of narrative prose dealing with or offering opinions or conjectures upon facts and reality, including biography, history, and the essay.

We have reached the final stop in our all expenses paid trip through my ‘Birthday Book Haul‘. The final stop is ‘non fiction’ books. It’s an eclectic bunch; most of which I’m not sure about.

But enough stalling, on with it!

~*~

Tracks – Robyn Davidson.

The friend who gave me this keeps asking if I’ve read it yet. So, despite the fact I never would have picked it out for myself, I will read it. Davidson’s memoir recounts her perilous journey across 1,700 miles of hostile Australian desert to the sea with only four camels and a dog. It does sound pretty interesting, I’ll give it that.

IMG_0437

.

Marley and Me – John Grogan.

This autobiography, by journalist John Grogan, details how he and his wife’s lives changed after they brought home Marley, a little yellow furball. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen the film adaptation of this book, but I can’t remember what I thought of it. I think I will read it one day, because I love dogs and it comes very highly recommended.

IMG_0441

.

Escaping Daddy – Maria Landon.

The friend who got me this hasn’t actually read it, but said she has been meaning to. I’m not sure it’s really the sort of book I would like. It’s the second autobiographical novel by Maria, and continues the story of her life. This novel details how she tries to rebuild her life after her father turned her into a child prostitute.

IMG_0398

.

The Long Hard Road Out of Hell – Marilyn Manson.

The autobiography of Marilyn Manson. Quite sure I will never read this.

IMG_0422

.

Stronger Now – Nicole McLean.

This book tells of McLean’s experiences during and after the October 2012 Bali Bombings. The terrorist attack claimed the lives of 202 people and left 240 others severely injured. Nicole was on the dance floor of Paddy’s Bar when the suicide bomber detonated. That night she was critically injured and was left fighting for her life.

The story sounds quite interesting.

IMG_0426

.

How to Be An Explorer of the World – Keri Smith.

Keris Smith is the creator of the famous ‘Wreck This Journal‘, and this is something along the same lines. It’s a book which encourages you to experience the world around you, by writing and drawing your observations in the book.

Maybe one day I’ll get around to trying it out, because it looks pretty fun.

IMG_0444

.

The Prez – David Spiteri.

The account of the birth of outlaw motorcycle clubs in Australia, Spiteri’s novel shows the evolution of the clubs from loose affiliations of riders to the well structured and well connected groups they are today. He was a founding member and long-time President of one of Australia’s first outlaw motorcycle clubs from the early 1960s through to the early 2000s.

It sounds like an interesting story on a topic I wouldn’t normally considered reading about.

IMG_0430

~*~

All done! It took a while, but we got there in the end. I hope you’ve enjoyed the ride!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

