Birthday Book Haul – Young Adult.

Young Adult (n.): a person in the early years of adulthood; A teenager (used especially by publishers and librarians).

Today is the second to last ‘Birthday Book Haul‘ post, which is about ‘young adult’ books. I’ve actually read most of these books, so I can express my opinions rather than muttering something about how I might read it in the future.

Let’s get to it!

~*~

Catching Fire – Susanne Collins.

I read this years ago, well before the series was made into movies . But I haven’t re-read it since. I’m not sure I ever will. I enjoyed it while I read it, but I’m rather over dystopian stories at the moment. I also loath love triangles. Don’t get me wrong though. The story is a great one, but you have to like dystopian settings to get through the trilogy.

IMG_0706

.

The Sookie Stackhouse Novels 7 to 9 – Charlene Harris.

One of my Uni friends got me this, and confessed that she accidentally ordered the wrong volume. This one has books 7 to 9, rather than the first three like she wanted. But I’m thinking of ordering the first book to see if I like it.

The first book ‘Dead Until Dark‘ is about waitress Sookie Stackhouse, who is a telepath, and who has a vampire for a boyfriend. Or so I gather.

IMG_0433

.

Point Blanc – Anthony Horowitz.

I read the first ‘Alex Rider‘ novel as research for my espionage short story I wrote for the HSC. From there I read the next couple, which my older brother owned. I never got around to reading the rest, but maybe one day I’ll come back to the series. I quite liked it.

The series is about teenage spy, Alex Rider, and the adventures he has. This one is the second in the series, and is follows Alex as he is sent undercover at an elite prep school for teen rebels after two fathers are assassinated.

IMG_0432

.

Looking For Alibrandi – Melina Marchetta.

We read this in our all girl’s Year 9 English class (that only lasted the year), though I’m pretty sure I’d read it previously. Regardless, I love this novel. Melina Marchetta is an amazing author, and definitely one of my favourites.

This novel tells the story of Josie Alibrandi, who is in her last year of high school in Sydney. There are very few contemporary books that I can read which are set where I live. I think the GoodReads blurb describes it best in this sentence:

Caught between the old-world values of her Italian grandmother, the no nonsense wisdom of her mum, and the boys who continue to mystify her, Josephine is on the ride of her life.

IMG_0377

.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – JK Rowling.

Along with this gorgeous new hard cover version of one of my absolute favs, the friend who gave me this also gave me my very own Hogwarts Acceptance Letter. I’m going to get it framed one day!

I’m not really sure what else to say about this. The book is about an 11 year old boy, Harry Potter, who finds out he is a wizard. He then starts at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and things get interesting.

IMG_0417

~*~

Next Sunday is the last post for this series, and will be a long one about the Non-Fiction books I was given. See you then!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

