The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (2003).

I was so busy last Friday that I never managed to get around to posting this; and posting it on a day which wasn’t a Friday felt wrong. Anyway, on to part three of the LOTR trilogy posts (part 1, part 2) for ‘Film Friday‘. The adventure concludes!

Beware! There be spoilers ahead!

RieThe Return of the King (2003). The epic journey concludes as Sauron’s forces attack Minas Tirith, and Sam and Frodo approach Mount Doom with the Ring.

It welcomes back many of the cast from the previous two movies, and also introduces a few new characters. These include John Noble as Denethor, Bruce Phillips as Grimbold, John Bach as Madril, and Lawrence Makoare as the Witchking and Gothmog.

The former fellowship aid Rohan and Gondor in battling for the World of Men as Sauron’s forces attack Minas Tirith, the capital of Gondor. Gandalf manages to rally the people of Gondor after their Steward, Denethor, is driven mad and dies. Aragorn not only helps the people of Rohan on their way to battle, but enlists the help of the damned dead who inhabit the White Mountains.

giphy (28)

Sam and Frodo continue their approach Mount Doom, unaware of the path on which Gollum is leading them. Frodo is captured by the giant arachnid, Shelob (*shudders*), whom Sam kills. He is then taken by some Orcs, who Sam also kills. The pair finally make their way across the plains to the mountain, where they are again accosted by Gollum. In the end the Ring is finally destroyed.

giphy (4)giphy (6)

The battles in this film are incredible to watch, but they’re also quite realistic. I know they include many fantastical creatures and monsters, but the casualties and losses are very realistic. The people don’t all magically survive, simply because they are good people. Legolas also has some awesome moments, such as below.

giphy (19)

Having recently watched the extended edition, I’m glad they included how Faramir and Eowyn get together. They’re so adorable, and I love that they get to be happy. They both deserve it so much, and I’m glad they find each other.

giphy (34)

And it can’t be a post about ‘Return of the King’ without mentioning Eowyn’s biggest shining moment. Damn straight she went there!

giphy (31)

~*~

[in a drinking game]

Legolas: I feel something. A slight tingle in my fingers. I think it’s affecting me.

Gimli: What did I say? He can’t hold his liquor. [Gimli passes out]

Legolas: [to Eomer who is watching] Game over.

tumblr_inline_mx840oqBYq1rkdfk3tumblr_inline_mxa0ysuPxY1rkdfk3

Pippin: [to Faramir] I think you have strength, of a different kind. And one day your father will see it.

giphy (22)tumblr_mkuvnn9XsU1snphe8o3_500

Gimli: Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?

The-Return-of-the-King-Certainty-of-death-small-chance-of-success

King of the Dead: The dead do not suffer the living to pass.

Aragorn: You will suffer me.

giphy (7)giphy (21)

Witch King: You fool. No man can kill me. Die now. [Merry stabs the Witch King from behind; the Witch King shrieks and falls to his knees. Eowyn rises and pulls off her helm]

Eowyn: I am no man.

giphy (29)

Gimli: Never thought I’d die fighting side by side with an Elf.

Legolas: What about side by side with a friend?

Gimli: Aye. I could do that.

tumblr_mpsb2u6bsZ1svzj0lo1_500

~*~

I’ll be taking ‘Film Friday’ off for the next couple weeks, and after that only posting every second week. I’ve become very busy and don’t want to always be behind with these posts. I’m also hoping to get around to posting about more diverse and personal topics, which I’ve been planning for some time.

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

