Birthday Book Haul – Fantasy.

Fantasy (n.): a supposition based on no solid foundation; visionary idea; illusion.

Part 4 of my Birthday Book Haul is about Fantasy books. I do love fantasy novels, and one of the books is actually one of my all time favourite stories. I’ve  been recommended most of them a number of times, so it’s great that I don’t have to search for them.

Also, I didn’t post this yesterday because it was Easter, and I was busy. Anyway, I hope you enjoy this list, and maybe it’ll even recommend something to you!

~*~

Storm Front – Jim Butcher.

One of my best friend’s gave me this. He’s been recommending it to me for ages. It’s basically about a wizard detective. That alone sounds great.

IMG_0404

.

Graceling – Kristin Cashore.

I love this novel so much. I’ve read it multiple times, and enjoyed it thoroughly each time. It’s action and adventure in a fantasy world, where people are ‘graced’ with incredible (and dangerous) abilities. Katsa is one such ‘graced’. She a fighter and she’s an incredibly strong female lead character. What follows is a whirlwind adventure full of sword fights, deadly political plots, and trials which push Katsa, and her abilities, to the limit.

IMG_0435

.

Gardens of the Moon – Steven Erikson.

A Uni friend got me this. It looks pretty good. It’s about the fight for the Malazan Empire. And other than that, I’m not sure what to say, because I haven’t read it.

IMG_0411

.

The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss.

I’ve had this one recommended to me by a number of people, so I’m expecting great things. It’s the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. GoodReads calls it a ‘gripping coming of age’ story.

IMG_0455

~*~

There are four more posts I have to do before I’ve catalogued all the books I was gifted for my birthday. Next week will be the ‘Romance’ and ‘Historical Fiction’ books!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

