Birthday Book Haul – Classics.

Classic (n.): an author or a literary work of the first rank, especially one of demonstrably enduring quality.

This is Part 3 of my Birthday Book Haul: Classics. I got a number of books which fall under the designation, as defined above. I have previously read three of them, so I can actually write what I think of them as stories.

The small collection is full of some really nice looking books. I really love pretty looking books, and classic books tend to have lots of different incarnations to admire.

~*~

Persuasion – Jane Austen.

I did already have a copy of this book, but I love this cover. It’s a classic romance (obviously, it’s Jane Austen). It’s about Anne Elliot, who turns down a poor man’s proposal despite her love for him. The man, Frederick Wentworth, leaves and years later returns as a rich and successful captain. Will they be reunited?

IMG_0374

.

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen.

This is the only Jane Austen book that I’ve read to date. It’s probably the most famous and well-known of Austen’s novels. It’s about Elizabeth Bennet, a head strong and slightly prejudiced young woman, and William Darcy, a honest and rather proud young man. One is poor and one is rich. The former is expected to marry well, and the latter is expected to find a wife. It’s become a classic formula: fall in love with someone you hate.

IMG_0399

.

The Famous Five Big Book – Enid Blyton.

I was really touched by the gifting of this book, because it came from one of my Uni friends, who couldn’t make it to the party. She sent it along with another one of my friends, which I though was super sweet. It follows a group of children who find themselves on numerous adventures (way to keep it vague, Gabi).

IMG_0403

.

The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm – The Brothers Grimm.

My older brother bought me this. Though it’s not his favourite book, rather it’s something he thought I’d like. And he was right. I’ve been meaning to buy a collection of the stories for some time, and this one is a complete collection and a pretty hard cover book.

Anyways, it’s got all the classic Grimm fairytales that we’ve come to love. The first and original versions, which I can’t wait to read!

IMG_0496

.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey.

I absolutely love the font on the cover (weird, I know). The story is set in a mental hospital, where Randle Patrick McMurphy takes over, rallying the other patients to challenge the dictatorship of Nurse Ratched. It sounds like an interesting novel, and I hope I enjoy it.

IMG_0408

.

To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee.

 My mum bought me this gorgeous version of Harper Lee’s classic. I read it in school, and loved it, so I’m glad I have my own copy now. It’s time for a re-read.

It’s about the roots of human behaviour, focusing largely on racism. It is narrated by a young girl, Scout. She witnesses her father’s legal defence of a local black man, Tom Robinson, who has been accused of raping a young white woman. It’s set in 1936, in Maycomb, Alabama (that’s very South). The story is incredible, and the point of view is spectacular. It really makes you think, particularly about ‘walking a mile in someone’s shoes’ before you make a judgement.

IMG_0475

.

The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett.

A good family friend (one of my mum’s best friends) gave this to me on behalf of her mother, who was very kind in giving me a present. I read this book year’s ago, and love the movie. It’s about little orphan Mary Lennox, who goes to live with her uncle. The estate hides an overgrown garden which has been shut up since Mary’s aunt died ten years earlier. Mary also meets her young cousin, Colin, who believes he is an incurable invalid.

I love this story so much. It’s incredibly beautiful and very easy to read. And I love the relationship which blossoms between Mary and Colin.

IMG_0391

.

Little Women – Louise May Alcott.

I was given two copies of this book, which I’ve been wanting to read for some time. One from a work friend, and the other from a family friend.

IMG_0369

It’s a nineteenth century coming of age story, set in New England. It’s about four sisters: Jo, Meg, Beth and Amy. I don’t really know how else to describe it, other than saying it comes highly recommended.

IMG_0429

.

Atonement – Ian McEwan.

This too is a nice looking book.

It’s about love and war, childhood and class, guilt and forgiveness (or so GoodReads tells me). It spans most of the twentieth century, starting in 1934. Thirteen year old Briony Tallis witnesses a moment’s flirtation between her older sister, Cecilia, and Robbie Turner, the son of a servant. Briony’s incomlete grasp of adult motives brings about a crime which changes their lives. The book follows the crime’s repercussions through the World War II and into the close of the twentieth century.

It sounds ominous.

IMG_0424

~*~

Next week’s post will be showcasing the ‘Fantasy’ books I was gifted!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

