Book Series Appreciation – The Ranger’s Apprentice.

IMG_0327This Book Series Appreciation post is about an Australian series, which I’ve loved since it first came out.

The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan.

My mum found a volume with the first two books in (I think) 2006, and bought it for me. She has had a habit of finding me books which I end up loving. I loved them so much I set about looking for the next one’s. Soon I had the first six books and was truly sucked into the world of Araluen.

I don’t really have a favourite book, or even a favourite character. I just love everything about the series. The Ranger’s are an awesome organisation, and I love how we get a real insight into their training in the first book; and even Horace’s knight training. It’s those small details which I find so interesting. That’s also why I love the maps each book includes.

IMG_0353 IMG_0348

I sort of wish I had matching series covers for all the books, and maybe one day I will. I actually have a couple signed copies, and also of the second series, The Brotherband Chronicles.

The Ruins of Gorlan and The Burning Bridge.


The Icebound Land.


Oakleaf Bearers a.k.a The Battle of Skandia.


The Sorcerer in the North.


The Siege of Macindaw.


Erak’s Ransom.


The Kings of Clonmel.


Halt’s Peril.


The Emperor of Nihon-Ja.


The Lost Stories.


The Royal Ranger.



Next Sunday will be my post about the books I got for my birthday!!! Woo!!!

– Gabi

Days Until My Birthday – 3.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s