The Avengers (2012).

Tonight’s ‘Film Friday‘ is an EPIC superhero movie, which I saw the moment it came out at a midnight screening with my older brother and sister. Man, was I excited!

So let’s get into it. Don’t forget, there be spoilers ahead!!! (Lots of spoilers…)

avengers-movie-poster-1The Avengers (2012). A part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, this film introduces the Earth’s Mightiest Heroes to audiences, and to each other for the first time. They must come together and learn to work as a team in order to stop the mischievous Loki and his alien army from enslaving all of humanity.

It stars Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man, Chris Evans as Steve Rodgers/Captain America, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow, Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton/Hawkeye, Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner/The Hulk, Tom Hiddleston as Loki, Samuel L. Jackson as SHIELD Director Nick Fury, and Clark Gregg as SHIELD Agent Phil Coulson.

To be honest, most of the things I love about this movie could be summarised in my favourite quotes, which are below. And I could probably go on and on about all the little things they got so right, and how amazing the actors are. I’ll try not to ramble too much.

tumblr_mdzx7sOZQw1r2u47wo8_250

The actors are amazing. I mean, look at that line up! It’s like Marvel grow their actors for each role in a secret underground farm somewhere in the Swiss Alps. They each encompass their character so completely. RDJ is a best example of this, as he IS Tony Stark. Sometimes it’s hard to tell them apart.

tumblr_mcpr21kzse1qc882co3_250

The combination of all these amazing actors and their awesome characters in one single movie is almost too much to handle. I fangirled pretty hard the first time I saw the trailer, and when it started in the theatre I was buzzing. The chemistry between, for example, Cap and Stark, is so dynamic and realistic. Their relationship develops and grows throughout the movie, as they come to respect each other and work together as a team. (It’s real heart warming).

tumblr_mawsgdy2U11roxdzb

The action is also incredible. Look at Black Widow go!

tumblr_m6wpacnbJj1qfqevuo2_250

Hawkeye is probably my favourite character, though he doesn’t really show his true colours until near the end, as he is controlled by Loki for the large majority of the film. He’s an incredible archer, and fighter, and has some wicked lines of dialogue. And Jeremy Renner is certainly nice to look at.

tumblr_m6e01u4H701qaxi9so1_500_large

Anyway, I can’t wait for the second Avenger’s movie to come out! The count down is on!!!

~*~

Steve Rogers: What’s the matter, scared of a little lightning?

Loki: I’m not overly fond of what follows…

loki-quinjet-avengers

Thor: Do not touch me again!

Tony Stark: Then don’t take my stuff.

tumblr_me0dzvMFFc1qc882co2_500

Thor: You have no idea what you are dealing with.

Tony Stark: Uh, Shakespeare in The Park? Doth mother know you weareth her drapes?

tumblr_m499uvstZR1rppr42_large

Tony Stark: Still, you are pretty spry, for an older fellow. What’s your thing, Pilates?

Steve Rogers: What?

Tony Stark: It’s like calisthenics. You might have missed a couple things, you know, doing time as a Capsicle.

tumblr_m5s8h1nUi11r46zpeo1_500_large

Tony Stark: It’s good to meet you, Dr. Banner. Your work on anti-electron collisions is unparalleled. And I’m a huge fan of the way you lose control and turn into an enormous green rage monster.

tumblr_m565ok6CO31qc882co1_r1_500

Bruce Banner: I don’t think we should be focusing on Loki. That guy’s brain is a bag full of cats. You can smell crazy on him.

Thor: Have a care how you speak! Loki is beyond reason, but he is of Asgard and he is my brother!

Natasha Romanoff: He killed eighty people in two days.

Thor: He’s adopted.

Thor-Bruce-Banner-Captain-America-Black-Widow-from-The-Avengers-l

Steve Rogers: Big man in a suit of armour. Take that off, what are you?

Tony Stark: Genius, billionaire, playboy, philanthropist.

AVENGERS_WETA_VFX_06

Loki: The Chitauri are coming. Nothing will change that. What have I to fear?

Tony Stark: The Avengers. That’s what we call ourselves; we’re sort of like a team. “Earth’s Mightiest Heroes” type thing.

Loki: Yes, I’ve met them.

Tony Stark: Yeah, takes us a while to get any traction, I’ll give you that one. But let’s do a head count here: your brother the demi-god; a super soldier, a living legend who kind of lives up to the legend; a man with breath-taking anger management issues; a couple of master assassins, and YOU, big fella, you’ve managed to piss off every single one of them.

tumblr_m4h0ocG7y11qeydi6o1_500_large

Steve Rogers: Doctor Banner, now might be a good time for you to get angry.

Bruce Banner: That’s my secret, Captain: I’m always angry. [Banner hulks out and punches the Leviathan]

tumblr_mbps11PeX31r8w2e5

Hawkeye: [to Iron Man] Want to give me a lift?

Iron Man: Right. Better clench up, Legolas.

tumblr_m4p1x4uWqr1r7b8el

World Security Council: Director Fury, the council has made a decision.

Nick Fury: I recognise the council has made a decision, but given that it’s a stupid-ass decision, I’ve elected to ignore it.

Image4kir

~*~

Sorry if I went on a bit this time, but I get passionate about Marvel superhero movies. I can’t help it. Next week will actually be a compilation post for one of my favourite movie series. I want to keep them all together, rather than having eight separate posts.

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

