January Book Roundup.

Banner

This month I didn’t read much, even though I’ve wanted to. However, each of the three books I did read cross off one of the prompts on my challenge. How that worked out when I didn’t have the list completed until the other day is a great and wonderful coincidence.

So these monthly posts will basically outline what I read over the month, what I thought of each book, if they crossed anything off my challenge, and also what I’m still in the process of reading. Pretty simple really.

 ~*~

Banner2

Read:

Serenity – Keith DeCandido. Easy. ★★★☆☆

A book with a one word title.

IMG_0262

If you’ve ever heard of the TV series Firefly, then you probably know about Serenity. The show as cancelled and later a movie was made to tie up some of the loose ends. This book is the novelised version of that movie.

I know there are people out there who don’t like books like this, but I loved it. It wasn’t a masterpiece or anything, but it was cool to get the extra details which had to be left out of the movie. You get to see what people are thinking while they’re doing things; you see their motivations and emotions a lot better.

It is a fast paced, complex book, which probably won’t make a lick of sense if you haven’t watched the movie (or any episodes of Firefly). I, personally, love it. And I love Joss Whedon.

“If you can’t do something smart, do something right.”

.

How To Hook A Bookworm – Cassie Mae. Easy. ★★★☆☆

A book set in high school.

18711456

This book is the third in the series of ‘How to…‘ books. They’re all equally as cheesy as each other, but who doesn’t like a bit of cheese? It’s about Brea Mason. She has to deal with a stressful home situation, her friends graduating two years before her, and the fact that she’s failing four classes. Brea finds a distraction in new student, all the while trying to ignore the feelings confusing her about Adam, her best friend, who’s leaving for MIT.

It is one of those books where, even though it’s about different people, you probably won’t get a lot of the things which are going on if you haven’t read the others first. The trilogy is really just one big story, with each book focusing on a different love story.

“I am completely through the roof, over the moon, skyrocketing through space in love with my best friend.”

.

The Magician’s Apprentice – Trudi Canavan. Medium. ★★★★★

A book with more than 500 pages.

IMG_0259

This book will actually be in next Sunday’s Book Rainbow, so I won’t harp on about it too much. It was my fourth time reading the book, as it’s one of my all time favourites.

This time through I marked some quotes to put on GoodReads, because I was disappointed to find it previously only had about four or five quotes. I added another ten or so.

“When Tessia and Jayan were served a large, fat rassook each, Jayan had smugly commented that Tessia certainly had a way with villagers and he would not be surprised if she could charm pickpockets into putting money into her wallet.”

~*~

Currently Reading:

IMG_0256

The Two Towers – J.R.R. Tolkien.

I’ve been reading this since July last year. I’m stuck. I’m dreading having to read about Sam and Frodo walking for half a book. I’ll get to it eventually, because I want to read all the books. I don’t want to skip anything, strictly on principle. But maybe I’ll just skim read the next 200 pages, or maybe not. We’ll see!

Hidden Enemy – Pittacus Lore.

A collection of the Lorien Legacies: Lost Files, the book includes numbers 7, 8 and 9. Two are about the character Number Five’s journey, and the other is about Mark James back in Paradise, Ohio.

I’m only on the first story, which is about Five’s legacies. It’s quite interesting so far, being let in on Five’s background. It sort of makes him a more rounded character, even if he’s an asshole. His motives make more sense, even if I don’t agree with them.

Princess Ben – Catherine Gilbert Murdock.

This book is another of my all time favourites, and I’ve read it about four times already. As with ‘The Magician’s Apprentice’, mentioned above, I’ll be marking quotes to put on GoodReads. It’s a great story for many reasons, but most particularly due to how many stereotypes and clichés it breaks. There is nothing at all conventional about this medieval fairytale, or about this princess.

~*~

Hopefully I’ll have finished my currently reading books by next month’s roundup. Hopefully.

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

