The Book Rainbow – Purple.

DSCN0229

DSCN0246This week is books that are in my second favourite colour: purple! There are some really nice shades of purple on these covers, and I’m loving it. I actually had a fun time picking these ones out as I had a few to choose from. These ones are the best shades out of the lot; mostly lavenders and lilacs, and a couple darker shades (though, sadly, the purple is almost only on the spines).

So here goes, the purple section of my Book Rainbow!

 ~*~

Brotherband: Slaves of Socorro – John Flanagan. Medium. ★★★★★

DSCN0369The fourth novel in the Brotherband Chronicles, I managed to snag a signed copy of the ‘Slaves of Socorro’. It’s continuation of the adventures of Hal, Stig, Thorn and their brotherband crew of young Skandians.

However, this book also has another familiar character pop up. Gilan from Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series. I love when authors have cameos of characters from another series DSCN0372without it feeling forced or awkward. As both series take place in the same world it feels incredibly natural for the two worlds to intertwine once again.

“‘…Then we’ll leave in a huff, taking you with us.’ [Hal]. ‘I’ve always wanted to travel in a huff,’ Ingvar mused. ‘It sounds very comfortable. I imagine they’re well padded.’  ‘Lined with feathers, in fact,’ Gilan put in.”

Catching Jordan – Miranda Kenneally. Easy. ★★★★★

DSCN0364I have been in love with this book since I first found it in 2012. I can’t remember how I came across it, but I’ve always loved high school YA fiction which also incorporates sports (I love movies like that too). It’s the first in the Hundred Oaks series, which I mentioned last week.

It follows Jordan Woods as she navigates being the only girl on the football team – quarterback, in fact – first love, and figuring out her future. Jordan is a great character. There’s some seriously witty dialogue and narration, which is characteristic of Kenneally’s books.

“Love hurts worse than getting slammed by a 250-pound linebacker.”

Wicked Jealous – Robin Palmer. Easy. ★★★☆☆

DSCN0358This book‘s another funky modern day fairytale retelling, like ‘Cindy Ella’ from last week. It tells the story of Simone Walker a.k.a Snow White. It’s a delightfully modern interpretation of the story, which isn’t as predictable as you’d think. Of course, it’s not perfect, and is slightly far fetched in some respects. I would recommend for a young teen, or anyone who likes a bit of light fluffy reading.

“‘I hate to tell you think, princess, but it’s time.’ If what she was talking about was what I thought she was talking about, I was in big trouble. ‘Do you mean -?’ She nodded. ‘Yup. The makeover part of the movie of your life. Complete with some nauseating up-tempo song sung by a pop star with a nose ring.'”

Out of Sight, Out of Time – Ally Carter. Easy. ★★★★☆

DSCN0353This novel is the fifth Gallager Girls story. It’s a bit hard to say much about the story without ruining it, so I’ll just say that it just keeps getting better. It’s fast paced and keeps you thinking about what could happen next. Or even what happened before. Cammie has lost her memory, and figuring out what happened in the time she lost is almost as important as the Gallagher Girls trying to stop the Circle of Cavan.

“‘I’m not crazy,’ I whispered. ‘I know.’ Believe it or not, that’s the most romantic thing Zachary Goode ever told me. And I kind of loved him for it.”

Howl’s Moving Castle – Diana Wynne Jones. Medium. ★★★★☆

DSCN0348I bought this book after watching the film adaptation and loving it. The book is quite different, and wonderful in it’s own right. I just love Sophie. She’s amazing. And I love magic, and snarky narcissistic wizards who become humble and loving.

The idea behind the story is that things aren’t always what they seem. This is true of all of the main characters. It’s the whole point of Sophie’s adventure.

“I make that four horses and ten men just to get rid of one old woman. What did you do to the King?”

~*~

What books do you love that have purple covers and spines? Have you read any of mine? Next Sunday the Rainbow is moving onto blue’s, and I’ve got some great books to share. So I’ll see you then!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

