The Book Rainbow – Pink.

DSCN0229

Woo! It’s week three already, which means pink booksDSCN0244! I was actually surprised by how many pink books I own. I actually had to make a decision about which to write about. There are even a few different shades of pink; some are like fairy floss, and some are like the five tubes of hot pink lipstick I own.

So here we go!

~*~

Oh. My. Gods. – Tera Lynn Childs. Easy. ★★★☆☆

DSCN0396This book is another one of those appropriations of Greek myths. It’s done quite well, mostly being about the descendants of the Greek Gods and Goddesses attending a secret school on an island in the Aegean.

Phoebe’s mum gets married to the headmaster of the school, which Phoebe then attends despite her non-descendent background. She tries out for the track team and pushes herself to just as good as those with powers.

 “I’ve survived beach bunny cheerleaders, a sluthunting, ex-boyfriend, and five years of cross-country camp. I’m not afraid of some throwback to ancient myth with atrocious highlights and a Barbara Streisand nose.”

Stealing Parker – Miranda Kenneally. Medium. ★★★★★

DSCN0391The second book in the Hundred Oaks series, which I absolutely love. It’s about Parker Shelton in her Senior year of high school. Parker herself is really spunky. She’s been having a bad time since her mum left, and came out. Also Will aka ‘Corndog’ is an awesome character. He’s sweet, and funny, and drives a ride-on lawnmower.

I put it in the ‘medium’ level, because it contains some more mature topics, which complicate the story. I would recommend this mostly to older teens and young adults, but not to a younger audience.

“Sometimes you gotta do what’s right for you and forget about everybody else. All that matters is what you want. What you need.”

Princess Academy – Shannon Hale. Easy. ★★★★★

DSCN0386I read this book for the first time years ago, but it has always stuck with me. It’s about Miri, who lives on a mountain where, for generations, they’ve quarried stone and lived a simple life. When her small town is divined to be the home of the future princess, an academy is set up, and every teenage girl in the village has to attend and learn to become a princess.

This concept may sound a little flimsy, but it’s actually quite lovely and sort of inspiring. Miri herself is an interesting character. She struggles with her desire to be chosen, because she feels she doesn’t belong on the mountain, and her desire to win the heart of her childhood friend.

“It doesn’t seem to matter what we think…The prince will come up here and look at us as if we’re barrels in a trader’s wagon. And if I’m salt pork and he doesn’t care for salt pork, then there’s nothing I can do.”

Cindy Ella – Robin Palmer. Easy. ★★★☆☆

 DSCN0382If you’re a fan of modern fairytale retellings, than this book is probably for you! As you’ve probably guessed it’s a new take on Cinderella. Palmer really makes the story her own.

It’s set in an American high school (is that really a surprise at this point?), where Cindy supposedly commits social suicide by writing an anti-prom letter to the school newspaper.

“I guess it was what my friend Phoolendu at the yoga studio would call kismet. That’s like fate, but much more dramatic.”

Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins. Medium. ★★★★☆

DSCN0377In my first post for my Book Rainbow I talked about Lola’s story. Well, this is the first book! This is Anna’s story.

Anna gets sent to a boarding school – “School of America in Paris” – for her senior year. Suddenly she’s learning French, making new friends, and falling in love – with a guy who already has a girlfriend. Talk about awkward.

I have seen some reviews that hate that Etienne has a girlfriend, but shows interest in Anna. Personally, I think it’s dealt with well. I recommend it for the romantically inclined.

“Girl scouts didn’t teach me what to do with emotionally unstable drunk boys.”

~*~

Next Sunday’s colour is purple!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

