10 Things I Hate About You (1999).

This is my second post for my ‘Endless List of Movies I Love’. I’m hoping to continue posting a movie every Friday. Trust me, I have enough movies on the list to do so.

There be spoilers ahead!

MV5BMTI4MzU5OTc2MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNzQxMjc5._V1_SY317_CR4,0,214,317_AL_10 Things I Hate About You (1999). The film is a modern adaptation of William Shakespeare’s play ‘The Taming of the Shrew’. It is set in Padua High School. It stars Heath Ledger as Patrick Verona, Julia Stiles as Kat Stratford, Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Cameron James, and Larisa Oleynik as Bianca Stratford.

The story follows Cameron (Gordon-Levitt) as he begins as a new student at Padua High. He is given a tour by Michael Eckman (David Krumholtz), during which he notices Bianca (Oleynik), whom he immediately becomes smitten with. The trouble is that Bianca can’t date until her older sister – the “heinous bitch” – Kat does. Cameron enlists the help of outcast Patrick Verona (Ledger) to charm the shrew so he can get a date.

I grew up watching this movie, and as I got older I loved it even more. It’s hilarious and I can quote it just about word for word. It’s about relationships and being true to yourself. Also, Heath Ledger was a damn gorgeous specimen!

tumblr_nhbomwYdOo1u4i2jmo6_250

The relationship between Kat and Bianca really intrigues me. It starts off so hostile. Kat has decided to be herself and not follow the crowd ever again. But all Bianca wants is to be cool and fit in.

anigif_enhanced-20611-1405974565-7

The dialogue they exchange is rich with sarcasm and the sort of teasing that siblings often go for. It’s a very realistic relationship, which evolves and changes throughout the movie. In the end, their sisterly love for each other is the most important thing.

tumblr_nhb0mdFsLu1sqe0nho7_r1_400

There are a lot of awesome secondary and background characters.

tumblr_nhebqhLguK1tyz282o7_1280

Mandela, Kat’s best friend, is one of these. She’s so quirky and I absolutely love her hair!

tumblr_kz4ojlVjyC1qa54hvo1_r1_500

Mandela (Susan May Pratt) and Michael (Krumholtz) at Prom.

~*~

Walter Stratford: Hello, Katarina. Make anyone cry today?

Kat: Sadly, no. But it’s only 4:30.

tumblr_nhebqhLguK1tyz282o1_1280

Patrick: [about Bianca] What is it with this chick? She have beer-flavored nipples?

tumblr_nh5b8goCgc1qi1fqqo6_250

Walter Stratford: My insurance does not cover PMS!

Kat: Well then, tell them I had a seizure.

tumblr_nhebqhLguK1tyz282o5_1280

Joey: Mr. Morgan, is there any chance we could get Kat to take her Midol before she comes to class?

Mr Morgan: Someday, you gonna get bitch-slapped and I’m not gonna do a thing to stop it.

tumblr_mmafrnUwfs1qa2szuo6_250

Walter Stratford: No drinking, no drugs, no kissing, no tattoos, no piercings, no ritual animal slaughters of any kind. Oh, God, I’m giving them ideas.

tumblr_nhb7oigvNE1rtjfxqo1_500

Chastity: I know you can be overwhelmed, and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?

Bianca: I think you can in Europe.

thats-because-you-dont-have-a-prada-backpack

Mr Morgan: [after reading Shakespearean sonnet] Now, I know Shakespeare’s a dead white guy, but he knows his shit, so we can overlook that.

tumblr_nhebqhLguK1tyz282o4_1280

Seriously though, this movie spouts some great wisdom.

tumblr_nhchyqgwKa1sxg88do1_500

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

