The Book Rainbow – Red.

DSCN0229

The second post for my Book Rainbow today is five red books! Books the colour of sunsets, the colour of strawberries, the colour of blushing cheeks. The colour of love, romance, and rageDSCN0243.

I know, real poetic, right?

Anyway, let me know what you think of this challenge, and if you have any favourite books with red spines and/or covers. Enjoy my first post for 2015, let’s hope there are many more to come!

~*~

The Rise of Nine – Pittacus Lore. Medium. ★★★★☆

DSCN0423The third book in the Lorien Legacies series, this book just continues the story and struggle that began in ‘I Am Number Four‘. We are introduced to more of the Garde, and their incredible legacies.

These books have a fresh take on the whole ‘aliens are among us’ premise. Each subsequent book in the series ends on an even bigger cliffhanger, which leaves you needing the next book. With the point of view switching regularly, the book does require a little more concentration than you’d think (hence the ‘medium’ designation).

“For the first time, I’m not just nervous about what´s to come; I’m scared.”

Ranger’s Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan and The Burning Bridge – John Flanagan. Easy. ★★★★★

DSCN0416The first two books of the Ranger’s Apprentice series are awesome, if I do say so myself (which I do). I have the two books in one (The Ruins of Gorlan and The Burning Bridge)(buy them here and here), and they work quite well that way. They tell the story of how Will becomes apprenticed to Ranger Halt, and then of his training. Naturally things go awry, there’s mayhem, and sword fights. It’s brilliant. And starts off the long series with a bang.

In fact the series is one of my favourites (as I mentioned last post), and by an Aussie author. I love finding home grown authors. Anyway, I highly recommend the series, for both kids and adults. The books are easy to read, but in no way are they boring.

“Once you best a man, never gloat. Be generous and find something in his actions to praise. He won’t enjoy being bested but he’ll make a good face about it. Show him you appreciate it. Praise can win you a friend. Gloating will only ever make enemies.”

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E. Smith. Easy. ★★★★☆

I DSCN0411bought this book while on holidays in the US, and started it in the airport on our way home. The book is largely set in airports, and I finished it in the first two hours of our flight. It’s about a 17 year-old American girl, Hadley, who misses her flight and is therefore late to her father’s wedding. As a consequence she meets cute British boy, Oliver.

The book is about how a relationship can be struck up in so short a time as a plane journey. It’s a cute and lovey dovey book, which was obviously super easy to get caught up in. If romance isn’t your thing, perhaps give it a pass.

“People who meet in airports are seventy-two percent more likely too fall for each other than people who meet anywhere else.”

The High Lord – Trudi Canavan. Medium. ★★★☆☆

DSCN0405Good ol’ Trudi Canavan (another Aussie author I love). The third book in her Black Magician Trilogy, the story of Sonea and the Magician’s Guild, winds up with some epic magic and even more epic romance. I love Sonea as a character.

It’s really hard to describe the premise of these books, but they’re set in a medieval world. They are followed by a sequel trilogy and, one of my favourite books, the prequel which explains the origins of so many things within the fictional world.

It’s relatively easy to read, but only if you’ve read the first two; or else it won’t make a lick of sense.

“

Great. She shook her head. Not only am I having conversations with myself, but now I’m refusing to talk to me. This has got to be the first sign of madness.”

Only The Good Spy Young – Ally Carter. Easy. ★★★★☆

DSCN0401This is the fourth book in the Gallagher Girls series. I love this series. Seriously, an all girls academy where they’re trained to be spies. What could be cooler than that? This book is set truly in darker and more dangerous times for the Gallagher Girls, involving kidnappings, terrorists, and double agents.

These books are quite realistic for what they are about; teenage spies. It’s been done before, but Carter does it really well. And I’ve read quite a few books about teenage spies, so I feel I can say that.

Also the books are easy and quick to read, but still really enjoyable.

“Tell me or I’ll yell for Mr. and Mrs. Baxter, and you can find out how Bex became Bex.”

~*~

Next Sunday is all about pink books!

– Gabi

Leave a Reply

