Day 24 – Christmas Traditions.

blogmas

Today is about Christmas traditions.

I’ve been thinking about this all day, and haven’t come up with much. Not that my family don’t have things we do each Christmas, but I wouldn’t call them all traditions.

tumblr_ndj302LH2R1s5qnhyo4_500

During the month of December I always seem to get hit by the creative bug and end up making some sort of ornament. It usually ends up being a sequinned bauble (which shouldn’t surprise anyone considering the DIY post I made). There are around twelve home-made sequinned baubles on our Christmas tree, and a load of other decorations we’ve made over the years.

giphy (5)

We watch ‘Love Actually‘ as a family every year, and have for at least the last six or seven years. Considering it came out in 2003, I think that’s pretty good. We all love the movie and quote it constantly. It is our Christmas movie, and we plan when we’ll watch it to make sure we don’t forget.

giphy

Every year we see dad’s family on Christmas Eve and mum’s on Christmas Day, and it’s always been that way. In more recent years we’ve then seen our chosen family on Christmas Night; taking the hosting in turns.

giphy (1)

Also, as I’ve mentioned countless times, we prepare and eat rocky road and pavlova every year on Christmas Day. To be honest it would feel like there was something missing if we didn’t.

In regards to a tradition I wish we did, I think I would have to go with the burning of a Yule Log. Though seeing as we don’t have a hearth (or fireplace), and it’s Summer for us in December, I don’t think it will ever happen. Alas, I digress.

tumblr_nbv2zwNA5t1r1ouklo1_250

See you tomorrow when it’s Christmas!!! I’ll be telling you all about my day =D

– Gabi

ONE DAY UNTIL CHRISTMAS!!!

footer

Leave a Reply

