Day 22 – Family, Food and Festivities.

blogmas

It’s nearly Christmas! That means today’s post is about what the festive season means to me. Real deep stuff, I’m sure.

I’m not a religious person, so Christmas to me has little to do with it. I respect other peoples idea of the festive season, whether religious or not. I understand it’s origins, but I also understand that in today’s society Christmas has grown into something that doesn’t have to be solely based on religion.

So for me, Christmas is all about my family; spending time together, sharing presents, and just generally spreading the love. Our family is pretty close, and we do spend a lot of time together throughout the year, so it’s not like Christmas time is unique in this aspect. However, it does carry those connotations, so it makes it all seem especially important.

The festive season also means great food, which you may have noticed if you’ve been reading my posts. There are certain foods which I associate with this time of year; mostly pavlova. A lot of fruits are in season, like mangos and strawberries. My parents eat a lot of mince pies during the season, and we stock up on half price boxes of chocolate. We bake things and have cold meat leftovers for weeks. It’s a great time to be had by all.

I’ll admit the festive season also means having to sit through traditional festivities such as carols on TV, but it just wouldn’t be the same without all that stuff. Anyway, that’s all I’ve got to say on the matter.

– Gabi

THREE DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS!!!

footer

Leave a Reply

