Day 5 – Books To Revisit Over The Holidays.

blogmas

Today is about books I revisit in the holidays. This was another tough one for me as I couldn’t think of any books I specifically re-read when the holidays come around. This is probably due to the fact that I read so much, and I really don’t need an excuse to re-read something (or need to have actual spare time, I make time).

In saying that, I have chosen five books, in no particular order, which I constantly re-read. (click the pictures for a link to where you can buy the book)

Enjoy!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K.Rowling

IMG_0225I actually haven’t read this in a long time, because it was my older brother’s copy and it went into hiding when he moved out. My mum found it (and the next four books) and gave them to me because I had been looking for them for ages. I think it’s time I gave them all a reread.

Obviously it’s on this list because I’m always in the mood to reread Harry Potter, so why not during the holidays?

The Cry of the Icemark by Stuart Hill

IMG_0228I’ve actually already written a post about how much I love this book. Read it and you’ll understand why I read it at least once a year. The main character, Thirrin, has her birthday during the week long Yuletide celebrations, so it’s sort of holiday time appropriate.

Also it’s super easy to read, and makes me happy, so it’s sort of a no-brainer why it’s on this list.

Princess Ben by Catherine Gilbert-Murdock

IMG_0227This is another easy and satisfying read, which I have read numerous times. I even managed to work it into an English assignment in high school.

It’s about this princess, named Benevolence (shortened to Ben), who goes through a number of ordeals one after another. She teaches herself magic, survives being a prisoner of war, learns what it takes to be a proper princess, and finds true love. What’s great about it is how unconventional the story is. I know, it sounds like it’s pretty clichéd, but it’s not. It subverts so many age old tropes, such as the princess being saved by the prince.

Anyway, I highly recommend it!

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

IMG_0224A book I was introduced to due to having to read it for school, I got hooked on this novel pretty quickly. I had to buy my own copy after returning the schools copy, and have read it a number of times since. I’m really in need to a re-read.

It’s actually one of the only really sci-fi books I’ve read. It’s really quite a complicated novel, and if you’ve seen the movie I would recommend the book as it gives a more thorough look into Ender’s mind. Also he’s a lot younger in the book, which explains a lot which I thought wasn’t fleshed out enough in the movie (which I did like, for the record).

The Magician’s Apprentice by Trudi Canavan

IMG_0229The first time I read this huge 600 page book, I did it in an afternoon. I got so absorbed in the story, which acts as a prequel to her other books (though I read it before them). It was a tad slow in some sections, but Canavan made up for it by really expanding the fantasy world.

The story is full of magic and mystery, and is a really good introduction to Canavan’s other series, The Black Magician’s Trilogy and the Traitor Spy Triology, which are both set in the same world.

What books do you revisit around the holidays? Also, tomorrow will be about my favourite thing about Christmas!

– Gabi

footer

Leave a Reply

